Patterns, patterns, patterns

3 Jul

I had the evening to myself yesterday and started browsing through some of the sewing blogs I’ve been following, and following their links to discover new and wonderful bloggers, fabric, ideas and patterns. The more I found, the more excited I got, until I found myself practically racing from page to page, barely even reading the print, click, click, click, click. I felt like Alice in Wonderland and I just fell down the tunnel to a whole new world (albeit a damn good one).

I saw things that inspired me to try out new patterns – thanks to Oh Lulu I think I’m gonna try out Colette’s Nutmeg.

Things that inspired me to  remake old patterns with new prints – thanks to We Sew Retro, I want to make a new Vogue V8667 (option F) matching a crazy pokadot to a striking solid.

Things that inspired me to use fabric I bought years ago but hadn’t found the right pattern for –  thanks to Raglan sleeved knit dress I finally found the right dress for this wonderful knit I picked up last fall at Fabrics Galore.

ImageImage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I discovered new patterns. Oh girl did I find new patterns.

I have to say that its thanks to the revival of small, local, haberdashery shops that I first broke free from the Big 4. I picked up my first Colette pattern from Ray Stitch and have slowly been finding other independent designers (is this the right word?) ever since. I’ll admit a lot isn’t to my taste, I’m not terribly trendy. But I do love to see them and be inspired by them. Also it fits with what I believe is important: independent companies, small companies, local (if not local designer, then local haberdashery shop), strong women, women making clothes for real women’s bodies.

But last night, oh it was just too much!

Discovering and reading Handmade Jane‘s blog (I love how she catalogues what she’s made over the last few years) introduced me to Maria Denmark and the Onion and made me desperate to get my hands on a 1950’s Hillbilly Blouse.

Yes I like that introduced my to By Hand London and the cute Victoria Blazer (think I might joint their sew along that starts next week!).

I discovered U-handbag and may become a purse type of woman after all. I also may finally get to make the kiss lock frame purse I bought this fantastic owl fabric for (in 2011 at the Knitting and Stitching show!). I hadn’t found a  decent pattern since since I bought it and am so excited to try Lisa’s patterns.

Image

The Village Haberdashery however very nearly was the death of me! Thanks to them I found Sewaholic,Sew Liberated, and Cake Patterns. I am getting heart palpitations just thinking about them all (plus I had to look at their website all again to find the URL for all the hyperlinks)! Safe to say, I wont be running out of any projects in the near future.

But first things first, I’ll start with what I have which is my other new Deer&Doe, the Datura Blouse. I’m going fabric shopping tomorrow and am hoping to find a lovely bird print (this is one of my current obsessions).

Reading all those blogs last night, didn’t just give me new ideas and introduce mew to new patterns. They also inspired me to improve my sewing, to join some sew alongs, learn new tricks!

*Warning: what comes next contains gushing and cornyness which may make some people cringe.

I am so excited to have found and join this world of blogging creatives! Learning from all these wonderful women around the world, reading their sewing trials and tribulations makes me feel a little less isolated and a little less of ‘just a housewife’. So thanks and merry sewing.

2 Responses to “Patterns, patterns, patterns”

  1. salpal1 July 3, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    funnily enough, you inspired me to do the same thing yesterday! And now I have all these new sites to check out. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

