The Wedding Dress – part 1 of the unknown

4 Jul

As I mentioned in All Dressed Up with nowhere to go, I love creating thing, trying new ideas and making more and more things. But aside from the constraints my very tiny change purse puts on such pursuits, there is the limiting factor of when would I ever get to wear a [insert – ball gown, ballerina outfit, flapper dress, dress tuxedo etc]? So when S. asked me if I would make her wedding dress I jumped at the chance.

We spent an afternoon looking through patterns on-line and dresses she had loved on etsy to get an idea of what shapes she was after. Being the laid back type of gal that she is, she didn’t have a pre-set idea already formed in her head and was very open to suggestions. The only prerequisites’ were that it be full length (but didn’t need a train) and not puffy, not be too revealing and, as the wedding is taking place in Italy in August, probably without sleeves.

Ultimately we decided on Vogue 1030 – a dress I have been eyeing for a few years now.

ImageImageBut with a few alterations:

  • No neck ruffles! Neither of us is drawn to ruffles and I can’t say this dress cries out for one in my opinion.
  • To counteract the plunging neckline, I’m going to use some gorgeous hand crocheted laced I picked up a few years ago at Darn It and Stitch in Oxford. The scalloped edges are going to be peeking out from the neckline’s drape.
  • ImageThe hem with just be rounded (err … is that the right term?).

Now we’ve had a dry run to iron out the kinks, I was a bit nervous after reading a few reviews indicating that the bodice was definitely going to be a challenge (and girl it was!) and I was too scared to wing it on expensive fabric. It definitely pushed me to my limits of knowledge and ability, I’ll confess that. And there were numerous times were I drank several cups of tea while working out what the f*ck an instruction meant – but I’ll save those gems for another post.

Today we went fabric shopping.  This pattern certainly doesn’t skimp on fabric: 5 ½ meters, plus another 5 for the lining. I decided we should head to Albert Cuyp market – it has numerous fabric shops and my favourite haberdasher (Jan’s).  We headed first to Silk Route and within minutes were in heaven oohing and ahhing and making all sorts of inappropriate noises over the absolutely exquisite feel of the fabrics.  Who needs an app for THAT  when you can just feel fabric instead?

We hummed and hawed a bit – it’s amazing the variety of off whites there are. But very quickly found the most glorious fabrics that went perfectly with the lace. At €25 a meter for some pretty damn decent silk, I feel like it was a good purchase.

 Image

Image

Image

I also took advantage of being at the market to grab some more flowers, who can resist peonies?  I did however resist both the bunches of sweet peas and zinnias (they’ll have to wait for next week).

Image

G. is away for a few days next week, so I think I’ll wait till then to do the cutting out. So that’s it for update 1 of I have no idea how many posts on what I hope will be a wonderful dress.

Wish me luck and everlasting patience in cutting the slippery stuff out!

5 Responses to “The Wedding Dress – part 1 of the unknown”

  1. sosewlovely July 4, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    Good luck to the wedding dress make! I made this in red for my wedding reception and it was really fun to sew (and stressful at times). You can see my version at:

    http://sosewlovely.com/2012/05/18/so-floaty-red-gown/

    Have fun sewing!

    Like

    • rosemaryforest July 4, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

      Wow that is beautiful! Your neck ruffle looks so wonderful, every other picture I saw of it, they had kinda fallen flat, but your’s really heald it shapes. Thanks for posting the link! I’m going to have a more indepth read of your Hairline hem post!

      Like

      • sosewlovely July 4, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

        Thanks! I think using silk georgette instead of chiffon helped a lot with the flounce. It should be easier to sew as well 🙂

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Wedding Dress – part 2 of the unknown | Thimble & Threads - July 15, 2013

    […] In case you missed the prequel to this, here it is The Wedding Dress – part 1 of the unknown. […]

    Like

  2. The Wedding Dress – part 3 of the unknown | Thimble & Threads - July 16, 2013

    […] case you missed them, here is part 1 and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

