When in doubt – sew.

14 Jul

So after a mammoth week and weekend finishing of some job applications and attempting to ignore the lingering question of just what am I doing with my life I decided to turn my attention to the ever growing list of projects I have set up for myself.  When in doubt – sew.

I came across the following image on a blog – I loved the idea and thought it was so applicable for a list of things that are home made!

Image

So my ‘ta-da list’ is as follows:

1. Cut out S.’s wedding dress.

See I’m breaking it down so it doesn’t seem so daunting. ‘Sew S’s wedding dress’ seems so formidable on a list, this way I can easily have things to cross out. I’m going to start with this first thing tomorrow!

2. Sew lovely little skirt for Ms G (just so no one is confused, G hasn’t taken up skirt wearing, although I am totally down with men doing that sort of thing).

This is a recent commission that I am supper excited about as its combining one of my favourite patterns with some fantastic fabric from Africa (I can’t remember the exact country at the moment).

3. Sew a purse for my oldest niece.

I missed her 10th birthday and my sister is coming for visit for 10 days – so I kinda thought a really funky purse might make up for it.

4. Sew a skirt for my middle niece.

I promised to months ago, got the pattern but have been procrastinating cause I am at a loss as to what fabric to use. Don’t want to make it too ‘girly’ nor do I want to make it boring.

5. Sew G. new summer shirt.

Preferably before summer is over!

6. Sew new outfit for N.’s wedding at the beginning of Aug?

I am stumped on what to wear – I know I have loads of dresses, but none quite seem fun enough for a wedding. Although I am considering wearing my newest little ‘Taste likes summer’ dress. Which leads us nicely to the next thing on the list.

7. Finish 2nd ‘Taste likes summer dress’.

Yes I never overcame the zipper disaster – had to rip it out. And now need to get to shop for new, just right zipper. This would however look pretty cute with the Victoria Blazer from By Hand London. Although that would be yet another thing to add to the list.

8. Finish baby quilt.

Started it ages ago and just need to put binding on it but its be relegated to the bottom of pile. However baby’s birth is imminent and therefore needs to be placed near top of list!

9. Get to the haberdashery shop to get everything I need to accomplish all of the above.

Hmmm the tricky thing is that everything above apart from 3 & 4 MUST be completed by August 1 when I shall be travelling to UK for said wedding and  birth of child. Yikes – if I pull this all off it really will be a ‘ta-da’ act.

One Response to “When in doubt – sew.”

  1. salpal1 July 14, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    you c an do it – just break the list into manageable parts. The fact that you write it down will help you focus on getting it done without getting distracted. I am the quess of the to-do list – but I really like that ta-da list idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

