The Wedding Dress – part 5 of 7

19 Jul

Did you notice that this is part 5 of 7 (instead of the unknown)? That’s cause the end is now in sight.

Today we made so much progress, the bodice really looks like a bodice now! This morning I picked up where I left off yesterday joining the bodice to the underbodice.

When I made the test version this stage took quite a while, but its amazing how know whats coming next  saves time and improves quality! I found that the gathering stitches I put in by hand,  along with the newly learnt prickstitch to hold the inner gathers in place,  made this stage flow with much more ease. Just as a little side note I found this video a great tutorial on prickstitchs.

As we are excluding the ruffle in favour of vintage lace I skipped steps 25-29. I’m going to put the lace in by hand as a last step, to ensure it is most favourably positioned. I’ve been listening to an audio book of Mansfield Park by Jane Austin all day today and feel that its affecting my speech already. Especially in that last sentence…. to ensure it is most favourably positioned oh lordy.

Anyway the drape and inset came together beautifully, largely I think due to once again hand gathering and basting the pieces.

Finally the underbodice lining had its darts sew and joined at front and side seams, and at last attached to the bodice. We’re having the shoulders a wee bit narrower than the pattern indicates, by about 1 1/2 cm but other than that its all going ahead as directed by the pattern and looking good!

Mabel has proved herself today to be a most worthy companion, so good at standing still while I pin things on her to ensure the drape is correct. Also I’m loving seeing how the bloody wonderful but scary to sew with chiffon is draping. It catches the light and has a depth to it that is just wondrous (again – I’m blaming the language on Jane Austin). Here’s a sneak look at the insert – and while I am no Ansel Adams, I hope it can give you some idea of the fabrics splendor. Just another side note, all the photos from now on shall be a chaste in nature until the big day!

ImageWe’re on course to finish on Tuesday! Monday I’ll be finishing the armholes with bias strips – eekk and attaching the skirt! And Tuesday the zipper and hemming!

Isn’t it amazing how a project can go from a daunting, unknown thing to a comprehensible, even exhilarating achievement in a day? Not that I’m counting my chickens before they’re hatched cause the armholes, zippers and hem will be no mean feat, BUT, I do feel like today was turned the corner. Pheww.

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

