Baby quilt

28 Jul

While I am perfectly aware I will never really become a quilter, I love making baby quilts for friends. And at last I have managed to tick off another ta-da from my list of projects in dire need of completion by Wednesday!

Sewing a quilt doesn’t do it for me in the same way that sewing clothes for mates does. I don’t seem to have the eye for what fabrics would work in a quilt the way I do for a blouse or a skirt, nor do I really have the patience.  But it’s a gift I really love to give. Its got a lot of love and effort that, when you don’t live near the baby, its hard to show.

ImageMy moma is a master quilter, seriously she makes some pretty fine quilts. We’ve got quite a few ‘scrap’ quilted throws, which she made from her scrap bag – I can see various pjs, night gowns, shirts and dresses in these quilts.  I still have the quilt on our bed she made me when I graduated from high school – although she cringes when she sees it, only seeing its imperfections – I love it. Image

When she came to visit me  several months ago I was fumbling my way through the planning process for a baby quilt for our friends expected baby. I had loads of blue florals – enough for a quilt and I figured the combo would work for either gender. I also had some left over fabric with some great birds on it which I thought it would give it a playful feel. (I’m obsessed with bird fabric at the moment). Image

But I just couldn’t make up my mind. In the end moma suggesed  making some 4 squares .. err… not really sure what they’re called. But as you can see they’re 4 squares in a square  – don’t you love when I go all technical.

This I thought worked pretty good. The only fabric I had to buy was the plain blue and the purple fleece backside! Image

Now I’m a fan of baby quilts that are a substantial size. Something big enough to really bundle a kid up in, or place out on the grass in the summer and have the mom as well as baby comfortably sit. I like quilts that really get used and I hope this one will! I’ll never be a master quilter nor do I want to be. I can look at all the mistakes in this one (including approaching fleece with a hot iron – yikes!) but not worry. Its made with love.

Image

Image

5 Responses to “Baby quilt”

  1. Espirational July 28, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    That is lovely. I really like the birds.

    Like

    • rosemaryforest July 29, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      Thank you! I am addicted to bird prints at the moment!

      Like

      • Loren August 14, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

        At last! Someone who untndsdaers! Thanks for posting!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 July 30, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    pretty, I am sure they will use it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

