Buttercup bag

29 Jul

A few weeks ago Veanna from sosewlovely posted about making a little tote bag for her niece.  I thought this was a great idea – my oldest niece, who lives on the other side of the world, was 10 this month (and I forgot her birthday!).  Like Veanna I’ve found it hard to gage what to make for rapidly  growing-up girls, and quickly latched on to the idea of making a purse. A few days later I came across 8B Creative’s blog on the buttercup bag from made-by-rae and fell in love with its shape. I’ve downloaded the pattern and printed it all out.

My niece currently loves polka dots and purple – and I thought it would be fun to have the base of the bag out of larger polka dots and the top out of small polka dots. So today I set off to Albert Cuyp market in search of just the right thing!

ImageIn De Boerenbonthal I was a bit overwhelmed by their polka dot section four, large, full shelves of polka dots in tons of colors. But not a lot of purple. Or I should clarify not a lot of dark purple, quite a bit of lilac.

Dilemma: I could make the purse out of three different lilac colored fabrics – large polka dots for the base, medium for the top, and small for the strap. Or I could make it plain –  dark purple polka dots all over (relatively plain that is). In angst I texted my sister (it was 6:30am her time) luckily she was up and clarified that the dark purple was the best option.  But after all my imaginings itImage seems so boring to have it in just one size of polka dot. So in the end I decided to line it with smaller polka dots on lilac.

Then I headed across the road to Jan’s for some magnetic closures. Success.

All it all it went really well for my first ever purse/bag. Attaching the magnetic snaps gave me cause to pause as I realised I had no idea whatsoever how to attach them.  So I googled it and found this handy tutorial  with photos for every single step quite helpful. It was a quick and straightforward pattern to follow and its probably taken me less than 2 1/2 hrs to make including printing and cutting out pattern!

I’m super pleased with it and suspect I’ll be making quite a few more of these as presents!

ImageImage

2 Responses to “Buttercup bag”

  1. 8B Creative July 30, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    Your bag is fab! I put a zip in mine but it did take ages to figure out how to put it in 😉

    Like

    • rosemaryforest July 31, 2013 at 10:30 am #

      Thanks – I loved your fabric! THought about putting a zip in but decided against it due to time constraints!

      Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

