An ode to my sewing corner

16 Aug

I’m feeling a little nostagic at the moment as I tidy, sort and clean out my sewing corner. Remember in my About section I mentioned that I’m moonlighting as a housewifeWell  its about to change. Not only do I have a new job that I start next month, we’re moving. To India. Me to the North, G. to the South – both on 6 month contracts.

I’m not going to get to take my sewing machine with me  … gulp … gasp …  but shhh I haven’t told her that yet. I’ve got three weeks of sewing time left before it all is getting packed away. So I am sorting through my sewing corner and thinking about  my previous sewing corners. This one is particularly good. We put shelves directly over where my sewing table stands with little hooks under for my scissors – I bet the next tenants are really going to puzzle over them. I’m being meticious and going through everything, but not much is going to get thrown out. Its funny isnt it the things we hold on to, and the things  that ‘belong’ to certain sections of our lives.

I’ve had to go through my scrap bag and be ruthless about what stays and goes. Can I really justify keeping those tiny pieces of amazing fabric thats really only good for the day you get around to actually making those cloth flowers you always wanted to do on a rainy Sunday?  Its making me sad think of actually throwing it away. Looking at different peices and remember what adventure I had making what.

I’ve cleaned up my fabric shelves and identified my last few projects. These projects are a little outside my normal wear but I’m aiming for maximum skin coverage with minimum heat overload.

I’m not quite sure what will happen to this blog after the move –  but I’m hoping to explore amazing fabric shops and have visions of meeting and learning from amazing tailors.

So I’ll continue to tidy up the corner and in a few weeks pack it all up again. Its been a good sewing corner.

What’s your sewing spot like? I’d love to see some pictures!

3 Responses to “An ode to my sewing corner”

  1. salpal1 August 16, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    ahhhh don’t throw those little bits away! If you can’t do machine sewing for the next 6 months, you CAN do hand sewing and make those cute little fowers you were talking about – bring a few supplies with you. You will go crazy without your craft. (When I was in college, I did nto have a sewing machine , and so I made clothes totally by hand. It took a lot longer (as you can imagine) but they were some of the best constructed clothes I have ever made. The zippers were perfect every time. I did not try buttons, I will have to admit, but pretty much everything else.

    And fabric – India – oh my. How exciting. I hope you will keep this blog going, just change it’s topic while you are away from your sewing machine. Or, if you start another one to document your travels and experiences, I hope you will post a link here so we can keep up.

    Like

    • rosemaryforest August 16, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      thanks! I imagine I will do some hand sewing while I am there and YES am so excited by all the fabric the future is going to hold!

      I’m impressed you made entire garments by hand – that I admit intimidates me no end!

      The blog will def continue in some fashion for sure as its been a great outlet and kept me sane these last few months!

      Like

      • salpal1 August 16, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

        lol don’t let it intimidate you. I admit, most of them were simple skirts. But if you can do a simple running stitch, you can do it. It is a peaceful activity, just not fast.

        Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

