Maxi skirt – take two

19 Aug

So I’ve spent the afternoon fretting over my maxi skirt. As you know, I was unhappy with how well I did the waist band. But I could have lived with the wonky gathers and poorly top stitched edge. But what I couldn’t live with was the fact that the waist band wasn’t nearly tight enough to hold the weight of the skirt. Something I discovered when I cycled to yoga after posting the Maxi skirt – sob story. In fact I discovered at a red light, just as it turned green and I went to set off, that my skirt was no longer about my waist. It was more about my cahoney and heading south, stealthily.

By the time I got to class I was determined to come home and remake the skirt’s waistband. And I did. I cut the old waistband off and I used a jersey of very small grey and black stripes which didn’t have nearly so much stretch as the bamboo fabric for the new one. And I had enough to make a proper size – the final waist band is about 5” top to bottom. I made it smaller (ie tighter) and then I found a piece of inch wide black elastic that was the exact right size for around my middle. I fashioned this to what would become the waist band top (putting small stitched at the side seams so that it wouldn’t slip about).

Then I spent about an hour putting in the gather stitches, lining them up perfectly and double checking they were even throughout. I attached the waist band, slowly and methodically, and  then topstitched oh so carefully.

And you know what? It’s not bad. I didn’t loose too much of the length and it’s much more comfortable now that it feels secure! The stripes are kinda cute too. My modesty shall prevail 😉

One Response to “Maxi skirt – take two”

  1. salpal1 August 19, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    Great job – it looks really nice – and I am glad you figured out you needed elastic before it was around your knees!

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

