A skirt for my sister

31 Aug

So my sister has been visiting (sisters are the best thing on earth me thinks). While we are somewhat different shapes and I still hope to one day be taller than her (she’s my big sister and certain rivalries never die) we tent to ‘borrow’ each others clothes (for extended periods). She took one look at my new maxi skirt which Mabel was still wearing and decided she would have that. Hmm… er… I don’t think so.  Instead I said if she chose the fabric I’d make her one. I didn’t know what I was getting myself into.

We are both very particular in our likes and dislikes. And for the most part we have VERY different tastes in prints and colors. We walked up and down Albert Cuyp Markt, going in and out of fabric shops looking for something that was just right.  For the most part nothing caught her eye but as usual De Boerenbonthal’s overwhelming shelves  were magnetic. But there was just too much choice.

After hours (ok that’s hamming it up a wee bit), in the end she chose a knit in a near identical slate blue/ teal to mine! Aside from making it longer and the bottom wider, its pretty much the same as mine!

It looked really nice on her and she’s supper happy with it (and mine remains firmly in my possession!). It even proved adaptable for cycling around town (with a bit of hiking of course).

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

