Fabrics Galore

4 Oct

I had the most mind blowing afternoon today – exploring Manek Chowk market’s fabric vendors, in Ahmedabad, India.

My colleague helped me navigate the chaos and we explored a range of shops. The main one though that was selling fabric by the meter versus fabric for specific ‘suits’  that I ended up going a little over board in was Salman’s. It was quite the experience. As it was quite a crowded shop and most customers were Muslim, I didn’t really feel comfortable taking photos – but I did get this one of the plain cotton section.

Image

Unlike any fabric shop I have ever been, a shop assistant followed us around this huge shop – stacked floor to ceiling with fabrics (organized by type) pulling out fabrics to suggest to me. I initially felt like batting him away – to me choosing fabric is such a personal thing. The likelihood that a stranger, and a man at that is going to suggest a fabric that I actually like, is quite rare lets be honest. But anyway he would pull them out with a flourish and before I could exclaim – lovely, horrid or anything – he would have unfurled a bit across the counter for me to examine. It all felt quite dramatic. In the end it just made me giggle and to be honest I could have spent hours in the shop. But it was soo bloody hot (I meant its been steady 35 degrees this week (going down to a balmy 29 at night). In the end I ‘narrowed it down’ to a few choices.

Now if you’re read my posts before, you’ll notice I’ve drastically departed from the normal type of prints and colors I would choose.  And while I was drawn here to the outrageous, bold extravaganza of prints – they look just plain silly on a white girl.  I’m getting them all made into various types of kurtas by a tailor down the road tomorrow.

This first lot are the ones that will be made into kurta tops  – one or two also came with fabric for the ‘suit’ trousers and scarf – but I’m not yet sure if I am going to be able to pull off such bold prints top and bottom. I may just go for some plain bottoms (I already got one lovely dark blue cotton for trousers).

Need I mention that I spent less than 20 Euros on all this (approx 16 metres of fabric)  and my other random fabric purchase – and it feels just lovely.

2 Responses to “Fabrics Galore”

  1. rosemaryforest October 4, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Reblogged this on she's off again and commented:

    So I wrote a blog over at Thimble&Threads on todays surprise fabric purchases.

    Like

  2. Krista October 12, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    That sounds like your kind of blissful! So many beauties.

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

