A new dress

24 Nov

I’m slowly working my way through my hoard of fabric. For this project I decided to use a lovely wool/cotton blend, I picked up a few years ago while going crazy in Fabricana with my mom and aunt. I decided it would be a perfect winter dress, being warm and colorful – and thumbing through my patter collection, decided it would be perfect for  New Look 6968.

 

It’s an old favourite of mine and I’ve made quite a few variations. This time I decided to stick with version A (minus the cap sleeves) as I love the pleats? tucks? how exactly do you refer to them? along the neck line.IMG_8610-002

I decided to be a perfectionist with this one.  I wanted it to fit perfectly. As a result I became quite familiar with my thread pick (puller?thingy-ma-bob?). I hummed and hawed over the exact placement of the darts, removing them, moving them slightly, and resewing. The result was, if I do say so myself, perfectly fitted bodice (which matched the side seams and notches of the skirt – triumph). I didnt have enough of the fabric to make the lining the same, but after routing round my fabric pile, I found a nice, similar weight and feel fabric, which you can just see peaking out of the armholes in the photo below (although its not visible when I am wearing it).

 

I made a rather drastic detour from instructions however, as I decided I didnt feel like doing facings on the next.  I went off course on step 11: “With RIGHT sides together, pin lining to bodice at arm hole edges”. Instead I pined and then stitched the lining to bodice at the neck.  I pressed, clipped the curve, ironed inside-out and right side-out. Then  I pined the lining to the bodice at the arm hole edges. Once sewn you kinda just pull  it right side-out. Not quite sure how to explain it. Its a technique my mom explained to me in one of our long distance skype tutorials as its a sneaky little trick that works one most lined dresses provided the shoulders are at least 2 inches wide. I’ll take photos next time I promise.

I was a bit nervous about fitting the zipper as Mabel (my trusty me2) is no more – no longer surviving on stroofwaffles and Gouda her body no longer represents mine. With a lot of weird angles of posing in the mirror to see what needed to be taken in tight, and what needed more slack, I managed to get the invisible zipper in in the 1st go! And it even looked nice, the top of the dress lined up (I admit this is a bit of a feat for me and I’ve been know to permit a wonky non-lining up zipper to walk out the door). The waist line doesn’t entirely match up, but its not terrible and I decided to let it pass. I also attempted a blind hem with my machine, which did take a few attempts to get right. Lesson to self – iron hem before photographing.

 

So on the whole, I’m pretty dam happy with it! Its nice and cosy, well fitted and smart, but colorful! Perfect little winter dress (with a cardigan and pair of tights of course).

 

 

 

2 Responses to “A new dress”

  1. Amanda November 24, 2014 at 10:40 pm #

    It’s gorgeous. I love the fabric and style. The fabric reminds me of the 1920s . Lovely work!

    Like

    • rosemary November 25, 2014 at 9:23 am #

      Thank you so much Amanda! I think the ’20s are my inspiration at the moment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

