A new skirt – Meringue

4 Dec

Although I got my Colette Sewing book a few years ago, I’ve yet to make any of the patterns from it. But I’m going to rectify that now by making the Meringue Skirt.

Lately I’ve been drawn to to very opposing styles of fabric: either loud prints or simple contracting colors (like bright magenta tights with my favorite blue skirt). In my head for a little while I’ve been planning to make the Meringue Skirt out of a forest green fabric I knew was buried deep in my cupboard (pairing this with a gorgeous pair of tights I’ve just ordered from HOSE.) Alas when I retrieved the fabric from the pile, I realised that there is not enough for the skirt even if I was creative. So I decided to brake  my ‘no new fabric’ rule and went up to Walthamstow Market on Saturday in search of a nice forest green medium weight cotton. It is surprisingly difficult when you know the exact color you want, to find the fabric. I searched market stalls and various fabric shops until I came to Saeed’s Fabrics . There I found a lovely green ‘jean twill’ which isn’t a fabric name I was familiar with. It is a little heavier than I was intending to use but I think it will work.

I’m planning on doing this skirt right. I know that might seem obvious – don’t we always aim to make our sewing projects right? But often I think I rush a little too much, or don’t take enough time with fitting it just perfectly. So this time, I plan to do it right: cutting out very carefully, maybe trying a few tricks suggested in the book for both fitting and doing the facing, and learn a new technique (the scalloped hem).

I double checked my measurements and sizes, cut my pieces carefully and sewing my seams with care. But now I am stuck. I’ve got my side zipper in, the last side seam sewn and just did a double check of the fit. The waist is fantastic, the darts smooth and a perfect fit over my rather rounded lower belly. But that is where I’ve hit a snag. See at the end of the front darts, There is just a bit too much fabric, as though I should have as much flesh on my high hip line as I do on my lower belly.

I’m struggling to think how I can best remove this excess fabric. Taking in the side seams won’t work as it will end up too tight while still sagging I fear. So I’m thinking about extending the length of the front darts, it wont take in a lot but perhaps will take some? But I fear that there still will be a big of a bulge of excess fabric dead center. Any suggestions?

For the time being I’m going to go bake some brownies so I don’t get too irritated with the skirt and do something stupid.

6 Responses to “A new skirt – Meringue”

  1. Britney December 4, 2014 at 6:14 pm #

    Maybe take in the side and do thinner darts?

    Like

    • rosemary December 4, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

      Thanks Britney – I’ve made the darts longer (though not thinner as it fit so well over the the first few inches), and taken in the side seams from the hips down.

      Its definitely improved things! Though I’m wondering what I could do better next time in terms of perhaps altering the pattern so that it fits even better!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Britney December 4, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

        I personally haven’t started messing with making muslins yet but I am going to start. It’s a great way to figure out fit issuer before you cut into your real fabric. And then once you figure out fit issues with that pattern it will make it way easier to make another next time!

        Like

      • rosemary December 4, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

        I’ve never bother with muslins because it felt like such a waste of fabric. But I think I’m going to start too! I had the idea this evening of using old sheets etc which I can find in charity shops then I wont feel so guilty about wasting it! Good luck with you muslins!

        And you’re right once I figure out the issue with the pattern it will be much easier.1

        Liked by 1 person

      • Britney December 4, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

        I feel the exact same way and also I hate wasting time making a fake version of what I want haha I am too impatient. But I am trying to remind myself that taking that extra time will help so that the item I make will fit much better meaning I will wear it more. It’s mor doc a waste of time if you don’t do a muslin and it doesn’t fit when you have finished!

        Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back to front | Thimble & Threads - December 7, 2014

    […] what was intended to be a very simple skirt, that I oh so proudly stated in my first blog on Meringue (can you believe its taken me three posts to get to the bloody end?), I haven’t exactly done […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

