Back to front

7 Dec

Back to front. That is never a phrase you want associated with your sewing. Yesterday as I commenced my work on my Meringue skirt, I put in my zipper (my new green one versus the pink one I had previously put in because it was to hand). I then went to attach the facing. But it didn’t fit. Dear God I thought. What now?

I decided to pull out my pattern pieces. I checked that what I thought was the front facing, was the front facing. I checked that what I thought was the back facing, was  the back facing.  I check the the seam was on the correct side to have a left zipper. Then I paused.

I checked that what I thought was the front of the skirt, was was the front of the skirt. It wasn’t.   I checked what I thought was the back of the skirt, was  the back of the skirt.  It wasn’t.  And there you have it, a quick check – turning the skirt ‘backwards’ demonstrated that the ‘back’ darts were just about perfect for the front – no excess fabric there. My problem of the previous days melted away in that instant. The extended ‘front’ darts actually worked quite well over my bum too, so luckily no need to make yet further alterations.

With a quick change to the facing and acceptance that the zipper is on my right side, my skirt was pretty much done. Except for the scalloped bottom. Because I only have a blue fabric marker, drawing the sewing line on the hem didn’t happen and it turned out ok except for one rather misshapen one on the side – so I let it be.

For what was intended to be a very simple skirt, that I oh so proudly stated in my first blog on Meringue (can you believe its taken me three posts to get to the bloody end?), I haven’t exactly done it right.  But it is done and I do plan to wear it to work tomorrow as envisioned with my new tights.

IMG_8803

Unfortunately the camera really shows up the winkles and crease line of the bottom facing (which isn’t so visible in the mirror).

 

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

