A Christmas Dress

24 Dec

IMG_8845As soon as I had made my last Laurel dress, I was inspired to make another. This time in black but with a rainbow of ric rac along the bottom. I planned to make this dress in time for my office Christmas party and although I sewed late into the night before the party, the dress lacked a zipper, hem and the all important ric rac bottom.

And so it has languished for the last two weeks, waiting to be finished.  Having missed the Christmas party I decided I’d  make it my Christmas dress. And here we are at the 11th hour, at last done.

I made a few minor changes to it, based on lessons learned from the last time. I lowered the apex of the front darts about an inch and for the side seams instead of the standard 5/8th seam I used 3/4which brought in it just a tad, but enough to make it feel slightly less like a sack. There’s a few things I’d like to go back and amend when I have a minute – smack dab in the front, the pink ric rac (which is the top of the five) is much further from the blue, than the others so it looks a bit gaping. Also the shoulder gathering is a bit over kill  – especially if my arms are not at my side (as the photos wills show).

I admit I broke my no new fabric rule and picked up a like black cotton something-or-other at Walthamstow market along with a lining. However both fray like hell and as a result I’ve had little back threads adorning the carpet throughout the house for weeks.  As the lining seemed extra slippery, I really struggled to ensure the underlining was an exact fit with the dress and no lumps or bumps appeared.

But in the end I think it’s really worked well and looks pretty dam cute. I’ll post some pictures when I in-house photographer returns from his secret Christmas shopping trip.

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

