Repair shop — Violet

13 Jan

VioletToday I wore my repaired Colette Jasmine blouse – I really love it. It felt so great to have a ‘new’ top that I decided to spend the evening repairing another blouse, this time Colette’s Violet blouse (v.2 – with the mid-length sleeves).

I’ve actually made this pattern a few times now, and contrary to my experience with most Colette patterns, the darts are actually in the right place for me. In fact this one fits pretty dam perfectly. But I don’t like the sleeves  gathered at the hem with elastic. They seem to big. By big I don’t mean a size too large, I mean when I would look down at my arms, it felt a little like I had flotation devices around my elbows (ok that’s an exaggeration). Also the elastic annoys me and with the gathering it looks silly under a cardigan (which I wear a lot of). But I’ve made v.1 (the short sleeves) and love them. So my second project for the repair shop is to redo the sleeves.

The blouse is made out of this gorgeous Liberty lawn which I picked up years ago at one of the London Knitting and Stitching shows. I think it is amazing. And I really geeked out, doing self covered matching buttons too!

IMG_9438

First I took the sleeves off which required about an hour or so unpicking, because when finishing the seam, my zig-zag went over the edge (making it quite challenging to undo) and unpicking the seam.

Luckily the shorter gathered sleeves require ample less fabric which means after a good ironing, I could lay the pattern piece on my newly detached sleeve pieces and re-cut them.

And presto – a few seams later my new,  sleeves are attached and my blouse is ready for work tomorrow. Another successful repair job, this time in about 2.5 hours.

6 Responses to “Repair shop — Violet”

  1. Hila January 14, 2015 at 12:06 am #

    Love that fabric! Cute top.

    Like

    • rosemary January 14, 2015 at 8:42 am #

      Thank you so much! It was a fabric I bought without knowing what I’d do with it because it was so gorgeous and feels so nice!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jay January 16, 2015 at 7:06 pm #

    Lovely fabric – well worth the work!

    Like

    • rosemary January 16, 2015 at 10:54 pm #

      Thank you!

      Like

  3. springystitches January 16, 2015 at 11:55 pm #

    Gorgeous fabric! I’ve made this top a couple of times now and it is a staple in my wardrobe as it fits perfectly.

    Like

    • rosemary January 17, 2015 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks – I love pattern too! Am just about to make another one as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

