Learning to read knitting

17 Jan
Photo courtesy of Quince & Co.

Photo courtesy of Quince & Co.

As you may know, one of my New Year’s resolutions is to knit a cardigan. After consulting Excellent E. I decided to start with the Featherweight cardigan, which apparently everyone is making these days. However having decided this I then have faffed around for several weeks before finally downloading the pattern yesterday.

I printed it off and with excitement opened to the first page were I was confronted with the fact that I don’t read knitting. Beyond the first two words: cast on,  I was lost. I figure it was like looking at computer programming or Latin for the first time. I had expected to struggle a bit and had already booked in a pub knitting session with Excellent E. but I hadn’t anticipated not having the foggiest idea what on earth it was saying.

Over our Friday knitting session, with the help of my fellow knitters  I began to decipher the pattern. Duh, P2 means purl two. Ok that makes sense but K1?  Everyone started at me with raised eyebrows before someone gently said nit one. Light-bulb -nit begins with a ‘k’. Being a dyslexic may pose a few issues here.

So with new excitment and a date to meet in the pub to knit. I rushed off to Loop to grab meself some yarn. With the help of the lovely ladies there I chose BC GARN semilla extra fino, a 100% organic wool (oz128).  With approx 300m per 50g skein and I’ve got four of them While it won’t be machine washable, I am quite capable of hand washing. Its a gorgeous light sage green.

With excitement I decided to quickly roll the skein into  a ball so I could do a few quick rows to check the gauge. But after 10 or so minutes i dropped the skein and hell rose up. I then spent 4 hours (I kid you not) untangling the wretched thing – breaking the yarn twice in the process. As a result I went to bed more than just a little purturbed. I’m off to the pub now (that will really aid my knitting I think) but I think it is safe to say this whole knitting a cardigan thing may take a while.

One Response to “Learning to read knitting”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Knitting diaries – a snail’s pace | Thimble & Threads - February 1, 2015

    […] picked up my pattern to read what I need to do next and was baffled. What knowledge I had gained in learning to read knitting seemed to have deserted me. I read and reread that line next to ‘Row 3′ in the picture […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

