McCall’s M6124

25 Jan

It’s a favourite I turn to every year or so: McCall’s M6124. This will be the fourth (in my closet -not counting the various one I have since decided were made of atrocious fabric and gone to the charity shop). The fit is just right and I love the princess seams.

McCall's6124

Routing through my fabric stash last weekend I pulled out a lovely blue and green flannel plaid and decided it was time to make my old favourite again. I carefully cut out my pieces so I’d have a better chance of matching the lines and set of to make my best version yet. I carefully finished my seams (with both a zig zag and pinking shears); I took pains to make the side slits even and nice; and didn’t take short cuts.

 

This weekend I did the cuffs, the collar, buttons and button holes. After covering my buttons (having not found any I really like I decided to go the extra crafty route) I made my button holes. I was feeling pleased with myself that using my new fabric marker it was easier to do the placements. That was until the came to sewing on the bottom button and realising that despite my numerous checks and measuring, the front right was an inch longer than the left. Having checked that they matching not half an hour before, the only logical conclusion I have been able to come to is that the fabric grew.

But this put me in a pickle as shortening it, would make the use of the bottom button whole redundant and an eyesore. Then brilliance descended upon me. I would sew the bottom button hole onto the front piece (with the stitches on the backside – only possible because the self cover buttons have loop holes). Ta da. I then put a snap on the bottom so it doesn’t flap and give away my sneaky cover up.

So volia a new comfortable, warm nice looking shirt – made with minimal stress! Do you have a trusted favorite that you always go back to?

 

 

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

