Knitting Diaries

26 Jan

I had initially planned to do my blog on the Featherweight cardigan when it was all done. But I’m beginning to think that’s probably not such a good idea – you’d either read something short like I’ve thrown it in the bin and never going to knit again or you’d get something so long I could probably submit it as a doctoral thesis. Also I figure I’m going to need all the help I can get – so feel free to comment, share blogs or videos of knitting for dummies!

So here begins the Knitting Diaries.

This evening’s first 50 minutes and I all I did this was cast on (twice as I miscounted) and do the set up row. During which I had to lookup what (WS) stood for –wrong side. I then decided it was dinner time and distracted myself with an elaborate version of pasta and pesto.

Refuelled I decided to tackle Row 1. It took me 30 minutes. Pausing again to do some research – this time on how to do a M1R and M1L. I found the twist collective’s photo tutorial quite handy. Though I admit it took me quite a few back and fourths staring at the screen and my needles in various stages of vague understanding, bafflement and discombobulation before I got it (or at least I think I got it).

Then in the midst it says k to 1 st before m and I’m right back to a high school algebra test – sweaty palms, racing pulse and furrowed brows. But common sense prevailed and with the help of the Abbreviations section of the patterns I calmed down and proceeded.

Row 1 complete. Now the big test is have I have actually increased by 8sts? On my second count I get the magical 62 sts but count again to make sure. 62 the second time. I make an audible PHEW and G raises his eyebrows at me from across the room (he’s learning not to talk to me while I am knitting).

I decide to call it a night while the going’s good (and take my knitting into work for Excellent E. to check – just like with Algebra home work).

I decided I might need clear visual affirmation that I am indeed progressing. So here's the results of day one's exertions.

I decided I might need clear visual affirmation that I am indeed progressing. So here’s the results of day one’s exertions.

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

