Knitting diaries – a snail’s pace

1 Feb

I haven’t got to do any knitting over the last week as this is all still new enough that I really need to concentrate. Last night I picked up my pattern to read what I need to do next and was baffled. What knowledge I had gained in learning to read knitting seemed to have deserted me. I read and reread that line next to ‘Row 3’ in the picture below, thought and pondered. It’s interesting trying to learn something brand new as an adult. Something you logically know really does work, there really is a way to do it, but I’ll be damned if I could figure it out. Then just before bed after mulling it it over for several hours it clicked. The way I was thinking about it didn’t change, or maybe I had stopped thinking about it and tha’ts what gave my brain the time to figure it out.

So after I woke up this morning, snuggled into bed with my coffee, knitting, pattern and computer (for crash lessons) I set off, essentially alternating between adding stitches and purling (and repeating endlessly). But unfortunately, I’ve worked out that to do the first row where I ‘make one stitch’ and the second row where I just purl takes me about 20 minutes.IMG_9520 Given that I have to repeat this 26 times – I feel like I’m moving at a snails pace. I’m also afraid I’m going to forget how many rows I have done so I’m making little ticks for every set I do.

Today I’ve made 7 ticks – and spent about 2.5 hrs on it (I had to pause a few times when I inexplicably would forget how to hold the needles).

But it is beginning to take some shape which is exciting. And it’s also addictive, as soon as I’m done one set, I’ll say to myself ok just one more then you can go get on with your day…. as a result I stayed in bed for a long time this morning! And I may be back at it this evening.

Just 19 more sets (ie repeating the two rows 19 times) and I get to the scary part about sleeves. So maybe it’s ok to be a snail. Sleeves are scary.

IMG_9521

2 Responses to “Knitting diaries – a snail’s pace”

  1. rosealys February 2, 2015 at 8:37 am #

    I don’t get to see other people’s used knitting patterns very often… I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who draws garden gates all up the margins! Just don’t start thinking about which way you put the needle into the stitch… That’s a sure way to completely forget how to knit! (I’ve done it..)

    Like

    • rosemary February 2, 2015 at 12:27 pm #

      That’s exactly what I did – thought about which way the needle went and totally forgot. Invented a whole new stitch (probably not) which I did half a row in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

