Knitting Diaries – The Hissy Fit

2 Feb

Last night after I blogged about my excitement of making progress on my cardigan I of course decided to keep on knitting (note to self continuing to knit late in the evening IS A BAD IDEA).  I added 3 more sets (6 more rows) at my normal snail pace – knitting for about an hour. I proudly took it into the kitchen to show G. my accomplishment.

It was then I noticed that 3 rows back, half way through the row I had knitted with a very creative stitch. I think I even remember the moment. I had paused and actually started to think about which way the needle goes in (also not a good idea) and had obviously convinced myself to do something different (and very wrong).

What to do? Given that there was a ‘bumpy’ half row, where it should be flat, only option was to unstitch 2 1/2 rows. This process took me about 2 hours.  Then I began worrying that maybe I hadn’t removed the  stitches I had made. And I had dropped two of my place markers. At which point I had a mini meltdown – a proper hissy fit with foot stomping and throwing of knitting to the ground. I am truly a drama queen.

I fretted. I despaired. I considered taking it all apart and starting again but feared that I would never again start it. So I put it away and went to bed. Where I lay in bed, brows furrowed realising I was going to have to do the maths and work out how many stitches there should be for the row I was on.

And that it what I have spent this evening doing. Working out that if row 1 had 3sts (front), 4 sts (sleeve) 48 sts (back), 4 sts (sleeve) and 3 sts (front again),  adding 8 sts for each set I’ve subsequently  done (10 )technically  I should have 13 sts (front), 24 sts (sleeve), 68 sts (back), 24 sts (sleeve) and 13 sts (front again). Even just working that out I admit took a lot of double checking and recounting. Now knowing the number of stitches I should have I had to count what I actually had and replace my dropped markers. After counting, recounting and double checking the front and sleeves have the correct number of stitches. But the back is missing 2.

And that’s where I’m stopping for this evening. I’m unable to tell if I am short 2 because I dropped them or because I had forgotten to make two new stitches. But at least I know where I am – figuring this out has taken 1hr!

Tomorrow I’m going to take my knitting into work with my as Excellent E. said she’d help me and hopefully will be able to tell where my missing 2 stitches have gone.

It got bigger then smaller and now is pretty much the same size as before.

It got bigger then smaller and now is pretty much the same size as before.

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

