Great British Sewing Bee

5 Feb

Sewing BeeOH MY GOD – inspiration and excitement may have been switched into high gear. I’ve just seen episode 1 of the 2015 Great British Sewing Bee. I’ve never watched the series  before and I have to say I am excited!

I’ve decided to join the Bee myself – though obviously in my living room and working around the whole ‘full time employment’ situation I find myself in. So what I want to do is make myself do the challenges. I can’t imagine doing all of them as I find it hard and/or not interesting to make something I won’t wear.

So from this week’s challenges I plan to take up the cotton trousers in 3 hours. I had thought about  fitting a printed dress for a friend in 5 1/2 hours but to be fair I often make stuff for my BFF so it doesn’t seem like its really pushning the boat out.. I can’t be bothered with trying to remake a denim shirt – obviously lacking the element of surprise makes it less of challenge but it just doesn’t inspire me.

So now I just need to figure out what the pattern was that was used for the trouser. Any suggestions?

2 Responses to “Great British Sewing Bee”

  1. Amanda February 6, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

    I have read on Twitter tonight that the book for the series is out on 12th Feb and includes the trouser pattern! Hope that helps! Hope you enjoyed the first episode! Wooooooo! I’m in the second! 🐝

    Like

    • rosemary February 7, 2015 at 9:59 am #

      Oooh good to know. I ended up getting Colette’s Clover pattern. I figure I’ll add a bit of time for finishing seams -though probably not french 😉 and hand stitching the top.
      Looking forward to next week! Hope you enjoyed doing it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

