Printing & assembling patterns

9 Feb

skater_dress_essential_detailsMy current project is the Lady Skater dress and it’s going to be brilliant red for this months sewing challenge on the Monthly Stitch.  But I felt the need to have a little moan. Or vent my frustration at printing and assembling patterns myself.

Until this pattern I have always steered clear of patterns that require me to print them myself.  For starters I don’t really like using patterns printed on paper – I’m too lazy to copy them onto tissue paper and without doing that they are a challenge to pin to fabric. But I’m aware that as far as challenges go, that’s just me being lazy.

Second it always seemed like quite a faff. Printing. Matching lines. Taping pieces. A faff. But again that’s just a bit of laziness on my part.

So I decided I needed to get over it. Or rather my desire to make the Lady Skater dress overruled my distaste for printing and assembling a pattern myself. So last night after work I put my fabric in the wash and pulled out the pattern pieces. Putting together the pieces is like doing a puzzle. I kinda enjoyed cutting it out and taping the pieces together actually. That was until they didn’t fit together quite right. So I pulled them all apart and tried again. Upon closer examination obviously during printing there was some issue with scaling or something. Which was a bit grrrr seeing as I spent about 2 hours cutting the pieces and carefully putting them together.

So that’s a third reason I don’t like printing and assembling patterns – the danger of screwed up print jobs. I mean there are going to be enough opportunities for me to mess up shape and fit when I actually come to cut my fabric and sew the dress. I don’t need any help from a not properly scaled pattern.

This evening I thought I’d try again. I reprinted the pattern and then got out my x-acto knife, cause I was going to be EXACT. Mmmmm.

Well in the end all the pieces are fit together, though there are a few anomalies. But there is no way I’m going to be cutting out my fabric tonight. Note to self: you like what you like, avoid printing and assembling patterns yourself.

That’s it. Thanks for reading my little groan. I always feel better after a little bitch, don’t you?

2 Responses to “Printing & assembling patterns”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Painting the town red | Thimble & Threads - February 16, 2015

    […] some struggles in printing and assembling the pattern I got round to the sewing bit on Sunday. I mistakenly thought it was going to be a piece of […]

    Like

  2. Fabulously red | The Monthly Stitch - February 17, 2015

    […] proved to be my monthly challenge alright, starting with printing and assembling a pattern at home, myself, for the first time. It didn’t go so well. It took two […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

