Painting the town red

16 Feb

Pret2015_02_badge1ty much since it got started, I’ve been following The Monthly Stitch. I loved the idea of challenges, have found it a great way to discover bloggers but had yet to take part. That, I decided was going to change in the New Year. So in December or January, I voted with excitement for what I thought February’s challenge should be.

I have to say I was a little disappointed to discover that the challenge was going to be Solid Colors. I mean, that’s kinda boring and nothing new for me, as I tend to swing, project to project, from solid colors to wild prints and back. So I was pleased to see Miss Bossy put in an appearance – the long and the short of it is, the color you are suppose to sew with, depends on your first initial. You can use your second initial, if you really hate the color.

Just so happens I got red. Which was pretty good challenge for me as I don’t wear a lot of red and just so happen to have some red bamboo jersey that’s been screaming to get used for a few years now. After a few days humming and hawing over what to make, I remembered the Lady Skater Dress. I decided it was the perfect pattern for the fabulous red.

After some struggles in printing and assembling the pattern I got round to the sewing bit on Sunday. I mistakenly thought it was going to be a piece of cake.

BAM my internet crashed and took out the rest of my detailed blog. Gone are my witty, self depricating comments on the patter and sewing the dress. All I’m left with is a bit of bitching. Feel free to jumpt to the end and see mypretty pictures.

The long and the short of it was that I struggled to figure out the instructions, maybe it was a particularly dyslexic day, but there was a melt down, temper tantrum and stamping of feet:

IMG_9671My sewing machine’s knit stitch (# 17) lead to my machine jamming, time after time. I decided to proceed with my normal approach to knits – ie zigzags.

Adding the neck binding was a particular mind fuck (when attempting to follow the instructions). Matching the centre of the binding to the centre front, means that half the front has too much binding, and the other half of the front and the back don’t have enough. Grrrr. I read the instructions. Reread the instructions. Smoked. Drank tea. Googled it. Read. It still doesn’t make sense to me.

Using transparent elastic in the seam allowance confused me, as it wasn’t entirely clear what use it was in the seam allowance. Obviously later on it does explain that it keeps the fabric from distorting but to begin with I was just confused about its purpose.

Anyway, it was all particularly frustrating 4.5 hours. The results are ok if you don’t look carefully.

 

4 Responses to “Painting the town red”

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! February 18, 2015 at 3:46 am #

    Isn’t it strange how once the original witty comments are lost they can never be re-created again! Well at least you were able to create a lovely dress. My mother used to say you have to “suffer for beauty.” – which usually made me scream more!

    Like

    • rosemary February 18, 2015 at 7:57 am #

      Oh so true Linda!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fabulously red | The Monthly Stitch - February 17, 2015

    […] suggest  that if you’re still with me and want more that you read the whole saga over on my blog: thimbleandthreads. There’s also a few more photos over […]

    Like

  2. Sewing misses #sewingtop5 | Thimble & Threads - December 24, 2015

    […] Lady Skater Dress […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

