Fabric, more fabric & wool

5 Mar

Oh boy oh boy am I in trouble. Today I, and 2 girl friends, went the the Spring knitting and stitching show. We all took the afternoon off work and headed off across London to Kensington Olympia. To say I was giddy would be putting it mildly. My cheeks were aching from grinning, and occasionally I skipped as we walked from the tube (really and truly).

I bought fabric, and more fabric, and oh just a little more. Then I bought wool. And here it is.

My first purchase was three brilliant fabrics from ‘Favourite Fabrics’ but unfortunately they are based in  Gloucestershire and not therefore likely to become a regular.

  • I was immediately attractive to this bird print. I am obsessed with bird print fabrics (plus its brilliant that April’s monthly challenge is putting birds on your garment). It’s a medium weight cotton and oh so soft. I think I’m going to make a sleeveless, button down dress with it.
  • At the same stall I got these two fabrics. Which I have in mind to pair, in a dress, with the white fabric from the yoke. But I don’t have an exact pattern in mind yet. Any suggestions? The red stripe is medium weight, and obviously the white (what do you call that type of fabric?) is quite light weight.
  • Then we stumbled across some amazing bargain wools. So I got this burnt orange DROPS Alpaca, 4 Ply (at £2.80 a skein who could resist?). I’ll make another Featherweight cardigan maybe with longer sleeves.
  •  I also got some in a gorgeous blue for my BFF (shhh – its a secret).
  • Then we found this stall selling some great lighter than Lawn, Liberty like prints. I got this wonderful floral print, which I’m going to use to make Simplicity 1692 (version A).
  • And I got some more Liberty like, fabric for another dress (pattern not yet determined).
  • Then we moved on to Fabrics Galore, an old favorite of mine. Where I bought some real liberty lawn, both for blouses.

At this point we decided we needed to break for tea. We were all overwhelmed, flushed and starting to flap. Nothing like a cup of tea. We then wandered around, realised we had only 1/2 an hour left (where did the time go?) and ended up heading back to Fabrics Galore.

  • Where I went a bit nuts. I got this great Indian cotton plaid in bright colored for a button down shirt. And finally, to top it all off. Rainbow colored Zebra print – which I have somehow got in my head will make a brilliant pair, of short shorts! I might wake up tomorrow and realise I was delusional, but at the moment it seems like a good idea.

So there we go, I’m set for the next few months. No more fabric shopping. Except, well of course I am going to Japan next week and who can resit some gorgeous Japanese prints? Certainly not me!

7 Responses to “Fabric, more fabric & wool”

  1. Colly March 5, 2015 at 10:43 pm #

    You won’t have time to go to work with all that sewing! So you’re off to Japan! How exciting! X

    Like

    • rosemary March 5, 2015 at 10:57 pm #

      Indeed I think I’ll need a sabbatical to get through it all!

      Like

  2. lovelucie1 March 6, 2015 at 2:17 pm #

    I too would be thrilled with that lot! I’m on a ban. I have to reduce the height of my stash.

    Love those zebras and those pears…….

    Like

    • rosemary March 6, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

      Haha I was on a 6 month ban which ended in January.

      Like

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! March 7, 2015 at 2:55 am #

    I love the birds and the zebras. That’s the thing with sewing your own – you can pick your own style and fabric! So unique!

    Like

    • rosemary March 7, 2015 at 9:32 am #

      Exactly, and you can find such amazing unique things!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trouble with a capital T | Thimble & Threads - March 4, 2016

    […] off yesterday and went the the 2016 Spring Knitting and Stitching show with a friend. We went last year and did our bank accounts some major damage. This year was no exception.  In fact another friend […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

