Salme Buttonless Shirt Dress

26 Apr

I loved the look of the Salme Buttonless Shirt Dress the moment I saw it. The simplicity of the shape and the collar caught my eye. But as always, I was put off by the PDF pattern.

I had the pattern was  in mind however when I purchased this gorgeous stripy, sedated rainbow like fabric in India last  year. The dress, I thought, would show off the fabric just perfectly.

IMG_9969Yet, other projects got in the way and I continued to be slightly daunted by the PDF. The other week however I was overcome by the need to have this dress. So I downloaded the pattern. Then I procrastinated some more as it requires adding the seam allowance. That opens up a whole heap of room for error. But the fear that summer will have come and gone again before I get it sewn has spurred me on.

Like my last dress, I decided I would not rush this. I would take my time and enjoy the process (including the pattern assembly – even if it was through clenched teeth). I also decided that this would (hopefully) be  a wearable muslin. While I like the fabric and would be annoyed to have wrecked it, it was pretty cheap and I don’t have any old bedsheets to cut up at the moment. Also I am already dreaming of using this pattern for one of the fabrics I got in Japan.

After reading a few different reviews of the pattern, I decided to go with the size 6 for bust (and above)and 8 for everything below the darts. Most of the reviews suggested that it was generous sizing. So as the size 6 is spot on (34″ bust) and the size 8 (27″waist) is a touch on the small side – I’m playing with fire a little.

Assembling the pattern was actually pretty easy and straightforward, but it threw me that in addition to the pattern pieces you needed to also cut the belt, belt loops and bias tape. Ok – full disclosure – I didn’t read that until after I had cut out my pieces. So Saturday morning, after having cut all (or so I thought) my pieces the night before, I went and cobbled together these remaining pieces out of the scraps.

Sunday afternoon when I started actually sewing, the wobbly seam allowance continued to trouble me throughout. I wasn’t confident in any of my seams – had I been accurate in the section when cutting our my pieces? Was this actually going to fit or would I end up with something wonky?

Low and behold, three and a half hours later I had myself a dress! Though I confess I didn’t finish my seams – this would not have been the dress to submit for an ‘Inside Out’ contest.

I had a few mishaps along the way: My collar however is a bit glitchy as the front gathers look a bit more like I’ve just caught some extra fabric in my seam, rather than intentionally gathered it. And my ‘Stich-in-the-ditch’ didn’t always manage to catch the undercollar, requiring me to go back to a few sections. But it fits, it is quite comfortable and feels very summery! And I mean in less than four hours what more could you want? I think next time I’ll add in some pockets though.

10 Responses to “Salme Buttonless Shirt Dress”

  1. gillymakes April 26, 2015 at 7:54 pm #

    That’s a really nice dress for the summer. Well done for accepting the challenge of using a PDF pattern.

    Like

    • rosemary April 26, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  2. sewloveable April 27, 2015 at 1:40 am #

    Great dress!!

    http://sewloveable.com

    Like

  3. Amanda April 27, 2015 at 5:09 am #

    Oooo, I love this!! Be fab for Summer. Was the PDF ok in the end?? It always puts me off too!!

    Like

    • rosemary April 27, 2015 at 11:50 am #

      Thank you! The pdf was ok. It was easy to assemble but it didnt have the sizes labeled so I continuously had to count out from the smallest. Plus not all the sizes were lined in ie there were just marks at certain points indicating the where the lines should be. When I was feeling cynical I thought it was a bit like a connect the dots.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lovelucie1 April 27, 2015 at 9:21 pm #

    Love your pattern matching with the collar! I have to confess that I love the immediacy of a pdf. You see it, you have in your hands in minutes.

    Like

    • rosemary April 28, 2015 at 7:52 am #

      I have to admit the pattern matching with the collar was purely accidental! Although I tried to match on the shoulder seams – it was no where close – which I think makes it look intentionally mismatched 🙂

      I can see the allure of the immediacy of a pdf – but the allure hasn’t yet overpowered my distaste of assembly! Perhaps with time and practice I’ll get over that.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! April 28, 2015 at 5:24 am #

    It’s nice to get the pattern so quickly, the price is having to put it together yourself! 😦 I do love your striped fabric, perfect for the dress!

    Like

    • rosemary April 28, 2015 at 5:42 am #

      I’d cycle across town any day to get put of using a pdf!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

