Indie Pattern Month

4 May

I’ve just been reading through the Indie Pattern Month Contests – can life get any more exciting? There won’t be much time in May for sewing what with my gallivanting around the world for work and holidays etc. But there is a lot of time for planning.

It’s my goal to enter all four contests using up a considerable amount of my fabric stash in the process. But it is going to take some careful thinking. The biggest of all – what patterns to use? I have a fair collection of Collete patterns, a few Deer&Doe and one Amy Butler but they’re not really suitable to the fabrics I have. So I’ve been exploring the sites of the various sponsors of the Indie Pattern Month and then just googleing. Oh my goodness.

I thought I had a good handle on various Indie designers. But I’m realising that was a bit like thinking the world was as big as my wardrobe and then discovering the magical world of Narnia.

At the moment these are the patterns that have grabbed me by the ancle and are refusing the let go.

For contest one: dresses I really want to use the two fabrics I got in the knitting and stitching show. In my mind I’ve seen them paired with the white being used on the yoke in some way. But I have struggled to find the right pattern for it. But now I have two ideas.

Made-by-Rae  I’ve never come across her but I think the Ruby Dress and Top might be a nice and simple way to present the fabrics.

But then again Colette’s Macaroon dress has a lot of potential for the contrasting yoke too – but I’m not sold on the pleated skirt.

For contest 2: separates I’m thinking Pauline Alice. Again I’ve never come across her and her beautiful patterns. The lovely carme-blouse jumped out at me. Perhaps in just a nice sedate block color, with gorgeous buttons or a vintage inspired floral? Paired with a pair of plain trousers?

Contest 3: new to me is a hard one. I’ve already established that in the world of India pattern companies almost everyone is new to me. But choosing is sooo hard. So far in my p arousing nothing has really grabbed me so I’m gonna keep on looking.

Contest 4: one pattern two takes is an easy choice. Deer and Doe’s Datura blouse. I’ve been wanting to make both versions for years now and this seems like the perfect opportunity! For the version with the triangle cut outs I’m thinking of using a lovely soft green fabric I got in India while for the version with the collar I’m thinking of merging three contrasting fabrics.

I will of course probably change my mind a few more times before June gets here. But one thing’s for sure – its gonna be a busy month!

 

3 Responses to “Indie Pattern Month”

  1. You are going to be a busy girl! But just think of all the lovely clothes you will have afterwards!

    Like

    • rosemary May 4, 2015 at 4:49 pm #

      I am going to be busy.And so excited about all the new things. But I’m really trying to focus on also making things that suit me (and are not just pretty/cute etc) – this I struggle with. So my pattern search is on!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

