1st sewing contest entry!

6 Jun

June’s monthly stitch  is all about Indie patterns and contests! Now I have to say I’ve never really entered a contest other than the Fall Fair when I was a kid. I was pretty excited and began planning the minute I found out. I’m aiming to enter each week’s contest, that’s six garments to sew in June. AND I plan to only use fabric from my stash!

The first week’s theme was pretty easy: dresses. But it took me ages to decide which pattern to use. You can read my post specifically for the contest here, which is fill with my usual ramblings and witty (I think so at least) comments, so I shan’t be saying much more about the sewing of my dress here. But cause Excellent E. and I had an epic photo shoot on Hollow Pond and choosing my favorites for the contest left out so many great, silly and crazy photos – I thought I’d dedicate a whole blog to images. So without further ado, here is my first sewing contest entry: the Ruby Dress from Made By Rae.

 

14 Responses to “1st sewing contest entry!”

  1. Emma June 6, 2015 at 1:15 pm #

    Beautiful morning + beautiful lady + beautiful dress = MONTHLY STITCH WINNER! *crosses fingers*

    Like

    • rosemary June 6, 2015 at 1:16 pm #

      Hehe thanks Emma! Though you may be a touch biased 😉

      Like

  2. jennyrecorder June 7, 2015 at 12:24 am #

    Soooooo cute!

    Like

    • rosemary June 7, 2015 at 8:56 am #

      Thank you! And so easy to sew.

      Like

  3. Amanda June 7, 2015 at 6:00 am #

    This is a beautiful dress! I love the eyelet detail on it. Good luck!!

    Like

  4. kathryn June 7, 2015 at 9:26 pm #

    This is gorgeous! I love the combination of these two fabrics! I found you from the monthly Stitch and am off to check out some more of your posts now! Is this Hollow Ponds in Leytonstone, London? If so I’m just up the road in Walthamstow!

    Like

    • rosemary June 8, 2015 at 7:22 am #

      Thank you!

      It is indeed Hollow Ponds in Leytonstone, London. We’re practically neighbors – I bet we’ve even knocked elbows haggling over fabric on a Saturday morning at the Walthamstow Market.

      Like

      • Kathryn June 14, 2015 at 7:07 am #

        Haha probably! There’s a small group of sewing bloggers meeting up in Walthamstow next Saturday, 21st of June. If you fancy joining drop me an email at kmhairi [at] gmail [dot] com & I’ll add you to the email group.

        Like

      • rosemary June 14, 2015 at 9:18 am #

        Oh wow, yes I’d love to meet up! I’ll email you now!

        Like

  5. jennystitched June 10, 2015 at 7:00 pm #

    This look so cute!

    Like

    • rosemary June 10, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’m really happy with it and so excited it made it into the finals!

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wowzers | Thimble & Threads - March 30, 2016

    […] week one (theme: dresses) for My Ruby Dress. I won a gift certificate for 5 Lekala […]

    Like

  2. Airelle Blouse | Thimble & Threads - August 20, 2016

    […] pulled out some embroidery anglaise I used for the yoke of my Ruby dress last summer and knew that it would be perfect for the back yoke. So then proceeded to try and find […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

