2nd sewing contest!

11 Jun

Jumping jellybeans! IPM2015 seems to be in full swing and already we’re on week two! This week’s challenge and contest is separates.  I’ve been approaching IPM2015 as a great way to ensure I have a summer wardrobe ready, should London decide to participate in summer this year. And for this week’s contest I’ve gone for Grainline Studio’s Maritime shorts coupled with Colette’s(free) Sorbetto top. Both of which I love!

The fabric for shorts is wacky I know but I love them and had such a feeling of accomplishment when I finished them (my first ever fly zipper!). Fingers crossed the sun will grace us on a few weekends this summer so I’ll get to wear them! As with last week you can read my contest blog here. G. and I spent a sunny evening playing in the park and taking photos in the sunshine. Below, for your perusal, are a gazillion photos.

 

14 Responses to “2nd sewing contest!”

  1. Rachel June 12, 2015 at 9:09 am #

    love both of these items!

    Like

    • rosemary June 12, 2015 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks Rachel!

      Like

  2. springystitches June 12, 2015 at 10:29 am #

    Your separates are great and I love your shorts! Both fit you perfectly. 🙂

    Like

    • rosemary June 12, 2015 at 10:53 am #

      Thanks – I was amazed at how well the shorts fitted. Especially because the fabric frayed soo much, I knew I wouldn’t be able to un-stitch the seams once they were done (so I didn’t dare try them on until the end, lest I loose my motivation upon realizing they didnt fit!).

      Like

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! June 13, 2015 at 2:08 am #

    I LOVE your shorts fabric! There is nothing better than when you can find something no one else has!

    Like

    • rosemary June 13, 2015 at 8:31 am #

      Thank you so much! It is pretty fun to have something that really and truly no one else has (or at least not in this combo!)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amanda June 14, 2015 at 6:05 am #

    Perfect fit !!! You look lovely.

    Like

    • rosemary June 14, 2015 at 9:17 am #

      Thanks Amanda! I’m always amazed when things actually fit just right.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. kathryn June 14, 2015 at 7:38 am #

    That fabric for the shorts is just brilliant! The Sorbetto is such a great pattern isn’t it?! I could really do with making another one. I do hope summer decides to stick around soon!

    Like

    • rosemary June 14, 2015 at 9:20 am #

      I can’t believe how easy the Sorbetto is and that it was free! I plan on making quite a few more!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. January Jeans | Thimble & Threads - February 7, 2016

    […] fly: I’ve only ever done two front fly, one on my Maritime shorts (from Grainline) and another on my Simplicity 1969 trousers. Inserting a fly properly gives me an […]

    Like

  2. Week 1 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - May 8, 2016

    […] Maritime Shorts from Grainline Studio and Kirsten Kimono Top from Maria Denmark plus bonus evening out in another […]

    Like

  3. Buttercup Bags | Thimble & Threads - December 26, 2016

    […] the youngest (6 years old) I used the last scraps of rainbow colored zebras from my Maritime shorts for the outside of the purse and lined it with a lilac and white poka dot print.  I have to say I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

