Blog-iversary

20 Jun

Two years ago today, I wrote my first ever blog. This will be my 104 blog in that time (as I didn’t blog for about 1 year while I was working in India). I first started blogging as a way to occupy myself during a brief period of unemployment; I had no idea how much I would come to love it or what I’d be doing with it in two years time.

Since I first started my sewing has improved drastically and I wear me-made clothes most of the time. It’s also been a major confidence booster in two ways. First in that two years I’ve changed sizes quite a few times, up and down and all around. Being able to customize the size of my clothes (and alter my favorites) to fit just right, has helped me feel good despite the fluctuation. Taking lots of photos of my creations has made me look at myself a lot more and feel happy in what I see. Second (and I’m aware there’s a little pride in this one, but not all pride is a sin right?) because I love the shock on people’s faces when they learn that something is me-made. When I feel out of my depth at work, I am more confident in me-mades like, if I can make this blazer/dress/blouse/trousers then I can do anything.

I also had no idea how many relationships it would foster. Commenting on others’ blogs, participating in the Monthly Stitch collective, and even  entering (online) sewing contests. It’s particularly apt that today I am going to my first ever sewing bloggers meet up!

So here’s to another year of blogging, thanks for reading!

4 Responses to “Blog-iversary”

  1. jennystitched June 20, 2015 at 7:49 pm #

    Happy blog – birthday! I look forward to more posts ☺

    Like

    • rosemary June 21, 2015 at 9:31 am #

      Thanks Jenny!

      Like

  2. kathryn June 20, 2015 at 8:57 pm #

    Happy blogiversary! It was lovely to meet you today! I agree with you re body confidence & confidence in general increasing with sewing. For me sewing made me stop caring what size I fitted in shops, and made me think more about what makes me feel comfortable and confident. I also feel happy & proud wearing my own clothes, we should feel proud of sewing! And yes the new friendships are great aren’t they?!

    Like

  3. rosemary June 21, 2015 at 9:34 am #

    Thanks Kathryn! It was really lovely to meet you as well today – thank you for inviting me! I totally agree about the knock on effect of caring less about shop sizes too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

