Butterick B5354 for Maggie

22 Jul

IMG_8694I love Butterick B5354. I’ve made tons of them with short sleeves and no sleeves, its a nice loosely fitted top. One afternoon while wearing my favorite one (made from a gorgeous liberty print jersey) my friend & colleague Maggie asked if I’d make her one. Which of course I would. So on our next lunch break we trekked off to Ray Stitch in search of fabric.

I love the fabric in Ray Stitch but it is a tad on the pricey side, though very good quality. It was there I discovered Birch Organic. Which I have fallen madly in love with as their prints are amazing. It’s not cheap at £18 a meter (and only 110cm wide) but I can’t help but feel for an organic t-shit that’s not bad at all.

Maggie chose a ‘Serengeti knit’, which feels lovely and is a nice medium weight.

After my disappointment with my last Datura blouse, I struggled for a while to find my sewing motivation so kept putting off starting this. But once I did I was on a roll. The fabric is lovely to sew with and I reckon I’ll be needing some myself. The top is fast&easy as the patter claims, and having made it numerous times before, I had it done in a jiffy.

I love how the neck facing gets sewing to the front at the shoulders over the back. It creates a really nice inside finish, though I admit it took me many tops before that step actually made sense. The side seams and armhole seams are double stitched and then I used my pinking shears on the edges.

The only additional thing I do on this top is to tack the neck facing to the front (on the pleats so its not visible), which helps ensure that over time it doesn’t roll up.

All good right? Except I forgot one crucial thing, Butterick patterns are always huge! So what happened when I put this top on petite miss Maggie? It was too big, despite having used the exact size to her measurements, in fact it fit me (and my measurements are much bigger).

So what to do? It was simple to take in the side seams a little at the arm pit and grading it out to the waist (as she liked the loose fit over the hips). But the slight gaping at the neck gave me pause to ponder. I decided that I couldn’t bear to undo the whole neck and shoulder seams to completely redo it. Instead I undid enough to expose eight of the centre pleats. I then took the pleats in half a pressure foot width. Then reattached the lining. Presto!

IMG_1284Redoing it also gave me the chance to put in one of my new ‘thimble & thread’ labels my BFF gave me for my birthday. It’s pretty damn cute eh?

Second time round, the top fit much better!

 

5 Responses to “Butterick B5354 for Maggie”

  1. navybluethreads July 22, 2015 at 8:50 pm #

    Now, the fabric may have been expensive but it looks lovely. I’m really learning that a nicer quality fabric makes all the difference between whether a me-made item gets worn or not… Hope she gets lots of wear out of it 🙂

    Like

    • rosemary July 22, 2015 at 9:28 pm #

      Me too! I’m in love with this fabric and I agree that fabric quality plays a big role in my favorite me-mades.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kathryn July 23, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

    Yay good save!! This is a lovely pattern and the top looks great on Maggie. What did you line it with, a similar weight Jersey or something lighter?

    Like

    • rosemary July 24, 2015 at 8:08 am #

      The top isn’t lined! The inside ‘wrong’ side of the fabric is a lovely cream. I used the same fabric for the neck facing plus some mid weight fusible interfacing.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Too much of a good thing? Never! | Thimble & Threads - March 30, 2016

    […] really love Butterick B5354. I’ve made it countless times: most recently for Maggie; for myself with short sleeves and without; and for my BFF last Christmas. Its just such an easy top […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

