The Hokey Pokey

10 Aug

While I was in Japan I picked up this great red polka dot fabric. It has a nice bit of stretch which I thought would make it perfect for the Colette Clover trousers. I’ve made Clover once before, in version 2 (cropped just below mid-calf) out of a very stretchy light weight denim. I made those in February in the height of GBSB fever  and while I love them, I resolved that the second time round I would take my time.

This time I’m making version 1 (ankle length with small in-seam pockets set into the waistband). I loved the idea of these in the polka dots, and for some reason I’ve associated polka dot slim trousers with The Hokey  Pokey song. You know You put your right foot in, You take your right foot out, You put your right foot in, And you shake it all about, You do the hokey pokey, And you turn yourself around That’s what it’s all about. Don’t ask me why, I have no idea.

I’ve really enjoyed taking my time in the evenings this week, sewing a little at a time. I finished my inside seams with flat felled seams as well as the crotch seam. I was hesitant at first about using the flat felled seam on the crotch, but as usual the ladies on the Monthly Stitch Facebook group came through with their advice. While it isn’t perfect (I found it hard to sew a straight line on a curved seam), as the stitching is nearly impossible to see, no one but me shall know!

I’m quite pleased with how the little in-seam pockets turned out. I used some scraps of cream silk something or other from the wedding dress saga and it makes me feel well proper and like the real deal.

Polka dots I discovered are quite tricky to photograph. But looking at the photos gives me a chance to really scrutinize the fit as I don’t have a full length mirror I can look in. While I really like these trousers I’m not 100% happy with the fit, but unsure about what exactly is off about them. They seem both too tight and too loose in places, and wrinkles aren’t terribly appealing. Also I’m not sure why I decided to use the black zipper, why I didn’t choose white? But they are fun and I like the spring they add to my step.

 

8 Responses to “The Hokey Pokey”

  1. monserrattlopez August 11, 2015 at 3:41 am #

    They do look lovely! 🙂

    Like

  2. lovelucie1 August 11, 2015 at 11:23 am #

    I can’t offer any advice, having never sewn a pair, but they look as good as any rtw! Although I know that’s not the point;)

    Like

    • rosemary August 11, 2015 at 1:10 pm #

      Thanks you!

      Like

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! August 14, 2015 at 5:33 am #

    I remember reading something about fitting pants (trousers). The back looks fine. There has to be some room or you won’t be able to bend or anything in them. The front.. well I had the same problem with mine. I can’t remember if I was advised to lower the crotch curve or not? Some help huh? I’m still working on my pants fitting. I just can’t stop. Some day I will get it right. In the meantime, I love your fabric and like lovelucie above they look as good as RTW!

    Like

    • rosemary August 14, 2015 at 6:51 am #

      Thanks Linda. You’re right, I’m happy with the bum but the front…. I think I should read through some of my sewing books, that’s what they’re there for aren’t they? Maybe the answer lies in one of them.
      Good luck with fitting yours!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. kathryn August 16, 2015 at 6:51 pm #

    These look great, I love the fabric! Any jeans/trousers I buy always have weird wrinkles at the front. I think before sewing I just didn’t notice them! I haven’t tried sewing trousers yet so can’t offer any advice but wish you luck with fitting. In the meantime you’ve got a lovely, flattering pair of trousers as is – yay!

    Like

    • rosemary August 17, 2015 at 7:03 am #

      Thanks Kathryn! I know isn’t the fabric great? It makes me want to skip down the street!

      Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

