NOT pin tucks

1 Sep

I’ve been wanting a nice little blouse with pin tucks on a yoke insert for ages. I’ve yet to find a pattern for it. But when I was rummaging though my patterns last week, I pulled out Simplicity 2363. While it’s a dress pattern, I’ve adapted it a few times to make it a blouse. This time I thought I could add a few pin tucks to the yoke and viol-la! I love the cut of this pattern, the princess seams and upper front really suit me and I’m always so comfortable in it (both the dresses I’ve made and the tops). I figured I’d make short sleeves to go with it, as summer seems to well and truly be gone.

As the upper front is the first thing that you sew, I jumped straight into my pin tucks. And encountered my inability to work out the maths of how much fabric I needed to add to my pattern piece to make a 1/4″ pin tuck. I knew how to sew it, but I could not for the life of me add up how much fabric I needed to add.

Enter my husband. After I explained what a pin tuck was and how it worked, he worked out how much extra fabric I needed. But as is often the way, all that calculation went out the window.

I ended up sewing what I intended to be the pin tucks on my initial piece of fabric and then cut out the pattern pieces from it. For convenience sake I ended up make the pin tucks a presser foot width, ie 1/2″ wide, not exactly pin tuck size is it? And I made them right next to each other, so they are almost over lapping. The result is great, I love it, but I’m not sure I could call them pin tucks. Perhaps pleats – but then you dont normally sew pleats down their entire length do you? They took quite a while to do, but I actually really enjoyed the process.

The other alteration I made to the pattern (other than chopping the length off it) was to reduce the amount of fabric in the centre back and front, so there is less of a gather. Which I think has worked quite well.

IMG_1601I finished my seams with my pinking shears and a zig-zag stitch as the fabric was fraying like hell. But its not terribly pretty – especially on the armholes which I shan’t be showing.

Inserting the sleeves proved to be quite awkward. I think perhaps I failed to place the front and back side pieces in the correct place against the centre pieces, which in turn threw the shoulders off. Either way, they were awkward to pin and sew. There are a few tucks were there shouldn’t be around the arm hold, but I won’t point them out šŸ˜‰

All in all I am actually really pleased with the top. I love my NOT pin tucks, its terribly comfortable and looks pretty good. My only fear is it will get rather wrinkled in my bag when I cycle to work tomorrow. Fingers crossed, these fall out as the day progresses.

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “NOT pin tucks”

  1. lovelucie1 September 1, 2015 at 9:26 pm #

    It looks beautiful! Love the half inch tucks. So professional looking. Love the fabric too.

    Like

    • rosemary September 2, 2015 at 6:52 am #

      Thanks Lucie! I picked the fabric up at the Walthamstow market back in June (technically still on the fabric ban, but hey-ho).

      Like

  2. Sew it up Buttercup September 1, 2015 at 10:34 pm #

    Your shirt looks really nice. I made a shirt with pin tucks a few years ago and I wore it to death. Well done šŸ˜„

    Like

    • rosemary September 2, 2015 at 6:53 am #

      Thank you! I’m going through a pin tuck phase, I really love them, they seem to dress an item up, without being over kill. Many more to come I am sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ā¤ļø

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

