Rosy Ladyshorts

4 Sep

Oh yes: Rosy Ladyshorts. That’s what I made on my Friday evening. I think it took less time than shopping for a pair of new underwear.

For years the only image I had of home made underwear was something unfitting (and unflattering) and featuring alot of gathers. A bit like the knickers  I made my sister back in January (she assured me they are fantastically unpractical).

But I recently stumbled across Cloth Habit’s free Rosy Ladyshorts pattern and it was love at first sight. I downloaded it a little while ago but wasn’t sure where to go. As usual the ladies on the Monthly Stitch Facebook group came through (where would I be without them!) with their suggestions including: English Couture Company, Gypsy Lace, and tia knight. As English Couture was the first suggestion and I was feeling impatient I ordered my goodies from them. But heaven help me because Gypsy Lace had so many gorgeous things I got into quite a tizzy.

Anyway, I got myself some two way stretch cotton jersey and some stretch lace. I found it a bit hard to tell the colors from their photos, so I was gambling a little that these two would go together. But I was super happy when they arrived (very quickly after ordering I must say ie a day or two).

The undies came together really quickly and simply. There’s a handy online construction tutorial to accompany the printout should one need it.

The moment I finished I whipped them on and was amazed to see that they actually fit. I made the size 6 (waist 28″ & hips 38″). And they looked real and proper and all! Seriously I paraded through the house in them! I am chuffed to bits. Pants! Undies! Whatever the hell you call them, I made them myself!  My only mistake was I accidentally put the seam of the lace waistband at the centre front (not the back). But who’s looking eh?

front

Back

The read test will be tomorrow when I’ll actually wear them out and about.

11 Responses to “Rosy Ladyshorts”

  1. Amy-June September 4, 2015 at 10:02 pm #

    Wowza! I was always a bit sceptical about making undies but these are amaze! Definitely adding this pattern to my ever growing list! Really impressed with how you’ve attached the lace – you wouldn’t know you hadn’t bought them in a shop!

    Like

    • rosemary September 4, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks! I was totally impressed too! Line them up against most undies I have and you cant tell the difference! It was really each to attach the lace actually! Go for it and enjoy!

      Like

  2. navybluethreads September 5, 2015 at 7:43 am #

    Love these and ditto the above. Very tempted myself now…

    Like

    • rosemary September 5, 2015 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks! Go for it , they are super easy and it feels like a major accomplishment I think to make you own!I’m just making a few more pairs now (while wearing yesterdays creation – which are very comfy!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • navybluethreads September 5, 2015 at 6:00 pm #

        Thanks for the inspiration, loved looking at your links for lingerie retailers too, just need to wait until I’m paid and then I’ll be indulging 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sew it up Buttercup September 5, 2015 at 9:45 pm #

    Woo hoo! They look really cute and comfortable. I think I’m gonna put them on my “must make” list.

    Like

    • rosemary September 6, 2015 at 10:35 am #

      I can confirm they are indeed comfortable! Have fun making your pai.

      Like

  4. Lori B. September 7, 2015 at 8:58 pm #

    I always figured underwear was too ‘fiddly’ to bother sewing, but I have a lot of small pieces of leftover stretch jersey so this seems like the perfect stash-busting project. Thanks for the inspiration. Did you find that the seams down the centre front and back cause any, y’know, wedgie action? I’m wondering if I should try a version without those seams.

    Like

    • rosemary September 8, 2015 at 6:59 am #

      Heheh I know what you mean about fear the wedge factor of the seams. But they haven’t been a problem. After sewing them with the zig-zag I trimmed the centre front and back seams with my pinking shears and made sure to press them to the side. Once done, they are completely unnoticeable.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 1 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - May 8, 2016

    […] Rosy Ladyshorts from Cloth […]

    Like

  2. For the love of underwear | Thimble & Threads - September 25, 2016

    […] to find that it is actually cheaper to make my own. Suffice to say, that last year when I made my first pair of underwear, using the Rosy Ladyshorts pattern from Cloth Habit – I made my sister (and BFF) an identical […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

