Too much of a good thing? Never!

22 Sep

I really love Butterick B5354. I’ve made it countless times: most recently for Maggie; for myself with short sleeves and without; and for my BFF last Christmas. Its just such an easy top that looks great and is terribly comfortable – what more could you want? I could warble on about it all day, but having done so in countless posts already, I wouldn’t want to bore you.

My BFF has been doing a degree, by distance, part-time over the last seven years. That’s commitment.  Today she handed in her dissertation and I am super proud of her. So I decided to send her a package of seven special things, for seven years of rocking the world of science. Among other things, I’ve made her a pair of Rosy Ladyshorts, identical to mine and a new B5354. Cause you can never have too much of a good thing right?

This time I’m making her one out of Birch Organics ‘Bear flight mineral’ which I got from Bizzy and Boo Fabrics on etsy. I am currently going through a phase with Birch Organics – I love it. The weight, the feel, the prints and colors – it is just wonderful. I cant get enough of it.

The print really suited the top I think, and I’m really pleased with out its turned out. I’m loving using the twin need for finishing hems, necklines and sleeves. I think it it makes everything look 10 times better!

9 Responses to “Too much of a good thing? Never!”

  1. navybluethreads September 22, 2015 at 8:20 pm #

    Beautiful fabric 🙂

    Like

    • rosemary September 22, 2015 at 8:27 pm #

      Isn’t it just? I’m going to have to get myself some!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kathryn September 22, 2015 at 9:46 pm #

    Ooh such lovely fabric, and what a lucky friend! The tucks on the front of this look so nice & crisp!

    Like

    • rosemary September 22, 2015 at 10:59 pm #

      Thanks Kathryn. Im really pleased with how it turned out.

      Like

  3. Amy-June September 23, 2015 at 9:03 am #

    Oh this is beautiful !! The fabric is a real star!! Now I want one! I’m going to add this pattern to my list … It seems right up my street …

    Like

    • rosemary September 23, 2015 at 10:03 am #

      Thanks Amy-June! I can’t stress how much I love this pattern – though if you do make it, you should note that the sizes are a little on the big side, so I’d suggest going for a size smaller.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Copycat | Thimble & Threads - January 3, 2016

    […] I’ve made this top countless times for myself and friends. Most recently I made it for  my BFF using some gorgeous Birch fabric from Bizzy and Boo on etsy. I  loved it so much, and thought the […]

    Like

  2. Butterick B5354 – in photos | Thimble & Threads - March 30, 2016

    […] few weeks back I posted a blog Too much of a good thing? Never. It was about the Butterick B5354 I made for my BFF. Today she sent me these two photos of her […]

    Like

  3. Week 1 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - May 8, 2016

    […] Monday: Linden Sweatshirt by Grainline Studios plus bonus BFF in Butterick B5354 […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

