Anna tunic for Penny

16 Oct

I promised my friend Penny I’d make her the dress version of Amy Butler’s ‘anna tunic’. I’ve made quite a few now as both a tunic and mini dress for myself, and a tunic for my BFF.  But I’ve never made the dress length version.

We wandered up to Raystitch on our lunch break last week to see if anything took her fancy and she found this great dark navy brushed cotton with cream pinstripes. It feels wonderful! We also got some blue anti-static lining fabric so that the dress can be worn over tights/leggings in winter (also adds to the general warmth I think).

IMG_1711As the tunic requires four buttons, I suggested that we add some character  by choosing something quirky. Penny is a cat lover and she managed to find some pretty damn cute buttons which look great against the fabric. Plus I convinced her a bright red top stitch along the edge of the yoke and hem would accentuate the detail.

The dress came together really well and I almost managed to completely match my stripes (but not totally – one of the back panels is a bit off). It looks brilliant on and most importantly Penny loves it!

These are not the best photos of a garment I’ve ever taken. Hopefully I’ll have some photos of her in it soon to truly show it off.

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Anna tunic for Penny”

  1. jennystitched October 16, 2015 at 6:35 pm #

    I love those buttons! You were right about the red top stitching, really lifts the whole tunic 😀

    Like

    • rosemary October 16, 2015 at 8:11 pm #

      Thanks Jenny!

      Like

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 17, 2015 at 8:24 pm #

    She has chosen the cutest buttons! Nice work on the dress and the red topstitching is very unique!

    Like

    • rosemary October 18, 2015 at 10:52 am #

      She sure did – I can’t stand sewing something I don’t think will look nice! 😉 So was really happy with her choice of fabric and buttons. I love the red top stitching think I may try this on some other things.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

