Laurel

18 Oct

Here’s one off my autumn/winter wardrobe wish list: another Laurel version 1 (I already have 2).

I used a cotton lawns from my stash (still working through my haul from the Knitting and Stitching show) and some anti-static lining I picked up on Thursday.

I love this dress – the simplicity of the shape makes it great for showing off fantastic prints. And with the underlining, it’s  the perfect winter dress to put over tights.

My previous versions however have always come out a bit bigger than ideal (ie I don’t even need to use the zipper – I just pull them over my head). So this time I really mixed it up. I used size 2 for bust and above, grading out to the size 4 at the top side notches. According to my measurements I am a size 2 for bust (34″) and somewhere between a 6 and 8 for waist and hip (28.5″ and 38.5″ respectively) but these have always been too roomy.

IMG_2611

My new dart placement.

Also I always find the apex of Colette’s darts way too high and long (essentially if I follow the pattern that apex ends up an inch or so higher than my nipple and can even go right on past it, edging to the centre of my sternum!).

So using the size 8 as a guide, I then dropped the apex by an inch. In the past this has worked for me on various Colette blouses and dresses. I also chose to use size 2 on the back darts.

I often struggle a little with underlining, I think mostly because I’m not so accurate cutting out the underlining pieces, plus they are so slippery they always seem to be more where I dont want them. Also I do most of my work on the carpeted floor (for lack of any other surface space) which makes it hard to adjust the pieces. This time I lay the underlining over my fabric,  on top of the smooth fibre board G. got me for pattern cutting. This makes it sooo much easier to get the two pieces to match perfectly.

That being said, I always forget how long it takes to align and attached the underling to the main fabric. So it took me most of my sewing time on Saturday to get to the point were I could actually start sewing the dress.

The pattern is dead easy to follow and it comes together really quick (after the interlining is attached that it). This version of it has come out beautifully! I’m so glad I chose this pattern for the print  and all my pears match up too! My mixing and matching of sizes worked out quite well. I’m much happier with this fit than previous version – although I may use a size 4 for the armholes next time as they are slightly snugger than I generally like.

Now I just need to get started on my next one. I have all the fabric and notions and might as well get started while the pattern pieces are still nicely ironed!

6 Responses to “Laurel”

  1. jennystitched October 18, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

    Looks great! I’ve seen lots of lovely Laurels, it really lends itself to fabulous prints

    Like

    • rosemary October 18, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks! There are so many great versions out there, it was seeing someone’s beautiful version which inspired me to pull the pattern out again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. navybluethreads October 18, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

    Lovely fabric and design on you! Not tried this pattern, but they keep cropping up on my reader, maybe it’s a sign? 🙂

    Like

    • rosemary October 18, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      Thank you! I think its a very flattering pattern.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 21, 2015 at 3:51 am #

    Nicely done, fabric choice, fitting, everything!

    Like

    • rosemary October 21, 2015 at 7:18 am #

      Thank you! I’m really happy with it – especially the fabric!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

