Sewing hits #sewingtop5

23 Dec

I really liked Crafting a Rainbow‘s idea of looking back on the year and reflecting on the hits and misses of our sewing year.  It’s been a brilliant sewing year and I’m really pleased with how much the quality of my sewing has improved. I’ve pushed myself to try new techniques and step away from the easy options. So without further ado, here are my sewing hits of 2015:

McCalls 4769

img_9954I made McCalls 4769 back in the spring for the Monthly Stitch challenge ‘Put a bird on it‘. I’d picked the fabric up at the spring knitting and stitching show and just knew that I wanted a button down the front, sleeveless dress. I did a muslin of the bodice (which is a rarity for me) and it paid off – I got to practice the collar which was a challenge and got the fit perfect (merging 3 sizes).  I really took my time to finish it well and as such am quite proud of it inside and out!  To cherry on top is I get endless comments when I wear it and its a definite top 5 of my year!

Ruby Dress

IMG_0679I made my Ruby Dress for the the ‘Dress‘ contest on the Monthly Stitch’s Indie Pattern Month. I had picked up these two fabrics at the knitting and stitching show knowing I that I wanted to combine them somehow in a dress but it took me a long time to find the right pattern. For me, the beautify of this dress is in its simplicity which allowed me to concentrate on finishing it really well.

Maritime shorts

Shorts frontI can sense a theme developing here. I also made these for a Monthly Stitch – during Indie Pattern Month and entered them into the ‘Separates’ contest. I also got the fabric at the kniting and stitching show. I thought I might be going crazy. I mean rainbow zebra?  But I love them. Sewing them gave me such as sense of accomplishment because I’d never put in a front fly before and the fit was just great.  I wore them all summer long and can’t wait to get them out again next year.

Datura Blouse

IMG_1211

You guessed it – same damn reason to sew (Indie Pattern Month) and purchased at aforementioned show.  I love this top – I was so proud of my triangles. And the curved hem has become a favorite that I use on many tops. I loved the buttons for the back too!

Carolyn Pajamas

IMG_2809

At last a project that wasn’t made with fabric from the knitting and stitching show. My wonderful new Carolyn Pajamas. These are just fantastic – if I’m at home, I’m wearing them. They are terribly comfortable and I got to try something brand new: piping. Revolutionary. How professional it makes things look.

So its been a pretty good year me thinks.  Tomorrow I’ll share my top 5 misses.

2 Responses to “Sewing hits #sewingtop5”

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! December 24, 2015 at 7:00 am #

    These are all nice! Good Picks! I especially like your bird fabric and your zebra shorts.

    Like

    • rosemary December 24, 2015 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks Linda! The zebra shorts are probably my all time favorite things!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

