Sewing misses #sewingtop5

24 Dec

Well there have been some doozies in regards to misses, in fact I found it hard to narrow down to just 5!

You CancanSew Panties

IMG_9386IMG-20150201-WA0000Back in January I made what I thought would be some amazing underwear for my sister from a You CancanSew Panties Complete Kit. My sister loves animal prints and I thought they’d be  a great little gift. I sewed them up carefully and then posted them off.  But it turns out that they beauties were huge.  In fact they were so huge they inspired my niece to do this very comical illustrations.

Lady Skater Dress

IMG_9694In February (very much unrelated to Valentines Day) I made my first Lady Skater Dress, for my first ever entry for the Monthly Stitch. I think it was a particularly dyslexic day, as other reviews suggest this is a very easy and straight forward dress to make. My first attempt was anything but. I  completely failed to understand the purpose of the invisible elastic and as a result the waist puckers. And the neck binding perplexed me greatly. Also my hem came out wonky. As a result whenever I put on the dress I just see glaringly obvious  problems so don’t wear it that much.

Datura Blouse

Meh.

Now this was the 3rd time I’d made the Datura blouse, which had quickly become one of my favorite patterns. But alas this version is destined for the back of the closet. The single biggest issue is the fabric: a silk weave. First of all I was trying to work through my fabric stash and really there wasn’t enough of this fabric for the blouse so some pieces were cut at funny angles, and the yoke lining is a dark piece of scrap – you cant notice it in this picture but it’s noticeable on. The fabric was a nightmare to sew with, even using my silk needles, it kept snagging. The darts are appalling, as is the hem because I couldn’t sew with the fabric properly. The collar is very wonky because it was cut at a funny angle, and the buttons I chose for the back are to heavy on this fabric so it pulls.  I haven’t managed to leave the house in this blouse once – not once, which is a massive failure. I think I’m likely to just cut the buttons off and relegate the fabric to the scrap basket.

My first pattern cutting

IMG_1394

So after a weekend pattern cutting course which G got me for my birthday, I set out to make myself a simple shift dress with breast and stomach darts. Try and try as I might, I just couldn’t make it work – the back was too long and so there was excess fabric, the sides gaped funnily, and to top it off  the fabric was very very irritating. The biggest frustration was that I couldnt work out why the sides gaped – I had changed where the darts were, the size, etc but nothing worked. As a result this is delegated to the back of the closet, where it glares at me reproachfully.

A-line Lady Skater Dress

IMG_1657I decided to make an A-line version of the Lady Skater Dress out of this fantastic fabric which had been sitting in my fabric stash for years.  I used both the pattern and my block from the pattern cutting course to figure out how to shape the lower half and I was initially very pleased with myself. But here’s the thing: it is quite simply, just too damn small. Its a great, body sucking, mini dress. But its not what I had in mind. There is enough fabric leftover however for me to have another stab and make it bigger. Which I’ll get to one day I’m sure.

So those are the wining ‘misses’ from 2015, none of which had much planning behind them- maybe that was a contributing factor?

2 Responses to “Sewing misses #sewingtop5”

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! December 25, 2015 at 4:34 am #

    What can I say… Your neice’s drawing is fabulous! Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary December 25, 2015 at 10:12 am #

      Merry Christmas to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

