New Years Resolutions

1 Jan

Last year I made myself three new years resolutions:

Use up my ‘new’ fabric. Hmmmm – I’m afraid I went on two massive fabric binges this year  (despite the fabric buying ban).  But aside from that I have done, errr, fairly well at slowly using my fabrics up. But if I’m honest I’ve probably added more to the cupboard than I’ve taken out.

Fix previously botched/ill fitting projects. My repair shop was quite busy in the spring when I fixed and repaired four items. But then there were so many new and wondrous projects that needed making, I didnt really have time to repair old stuff.

Knit a cardigan. I got started and knitted with abandon. Till I abandoned my project just when I got to the sleeves. I keep meaning to get back into it but failed for the previously stated reason.

This year my new years resolution is to challenge myself to try new things. Some of my favorite things this year came out of challenging myself to do new and scary things. That’s were the magic is right, along with the monsters that live in my sewing cupboards. These are the top 5 challenges I’m setting myself to conquer this year:

1. Bras.  All year I have marveled at Lladybird’s wonderful bras and she’s really inspired me – especially one post on tips and tricks. I’m particularly drawn to the Boylston Bra and the Marlbourgh Bra from Orange Lingerie, as well as the Jasmine Soft Bra from Ohhh Lulu.  So my first resolution is to make my own bras!

2. Coats. Back in June I won the Robson Coat pattern from Sewaholic. I’ve really really meant to make it in time for fall, perhaps I’ll make it in time for Spring? I have been a little daunted by printing and assembling the PDF pattern which I imagine to be quite encumbersom – I havent even looked that’s what a coward I’ve been. So my second resolution is to get my ass in gear and make it (I already know what fabric I want and everything).

3. Jeans. I want to learn to make jeans. Jeans that fit well. And are the perfect length. And the exact right color of denim. I’m thinking Ginger Skinny Jeans from Closet Case.

4. Cardigans. I need more cardigans in my life. Especially me made cardigans. The main impediment to me doing so is my lack of familiarity with the right types of fabric – weights, amount of stretch etc.- to make the Jenna cari for example from Muse Patterns or the Cabernet Cardigan from SBCC – both of which are high on my wish list.

5. Sports wear. I already have the blog post title in mind – I just need to overcome the fear! I really want to make myself some cycling shorts and tops from Fehr Trade. Eeek sewing with spandex?

So there we have it the five things I’ve shyed away from all these years.  Plus of course finishing knitting my cardigan, endeavor to empty my fabric cupboard, and repair all faulty items in the closet (or  give to good/fitting home – hehe see my pun there?). Oh and maybe buy a new sewing machine?

What are your resolutions for this year?

 

 

8 Responses to “New Years Resolutions”

  1. navybluethreads January 1, 2016 at 10:28 pm #

    I’ve loved reading Lladybird’s bra-making posts too, would love to have a go, but there seems to be a lot of bits and pieces to gather… Keep meaning to attempt the Seamworks soft bra as a warm up as a whole lot less pieces involved, maybe I’ll manage this year…

    Like

    • rosemary January 1, 2016 at 11:22 pm #

      I agree lots of bits and bobs – think I’ll get myself a ‘bra kit’ for the first few goes. Though John Lewis’s haberdashery section I noticed this weekend has most of the required bits….I haven’t seen the seamworks soft bra – I’ll add to my list of things to check out. You should go for it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • navybluethreads January 2, 2016 at 9:13 am #

        It’s a toss up between bra making and active wear, both seem to require specific things, but good tip for JL thanks!

        Like

      • rosemary January 2, 2016 at 10:51 am #

        Ooo – I want to try some active wear too! Looking forward to seeing your posts on one or the other (or both)!

        Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. January Jeans | Thimble & Threads - February 7, 2016

    […] of my  New Year’s Resolutions was to make myself a pair of jeans. So when Handmade by Chris announced Jeans in January, it seemed […]

    Like

  2. A new pencil skirt | Thimble & Threads - March 30, 2016

    […] a little more practice with my machine on an easy pattern before delving into some of my daunting New Year’s Resolutions, I decided to return to anther old favorite: Butterick […]

    Like

  3. New To Me: SBCC | Thimble & Threads - June 6, 2016

    […] would be perfect for my first entry for the IPM2016 contests. Plus making a cardigan waws #4 on my New Years Resolutions – so it’s practically a […]

    Like

  4. My first bra – the Boylston | The Monthly Stitch - September 18, 2016

    […] ages now and been inspired by so many people’s blogs on the topic. Plus it was my number one New Year’s Resolution. I decided to buy a bra kit as there were so many notion and things and got a really pretty one […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

