New sewing machine!

2 Jan

IMG_3002At the end of January I will have, at last, paid off my student loans. To celebrate I planned on buying a brand new sewing machine. But I couldn’t not take advantage of the post Christmas sales. So I’d like to introduce you to Bernie my wonderful (slightly intimidating) Bernina 380 which I got from the Sewing Centre.

IMG_3014I have for the last 6 years been sewing on a Toyota FSR21 which has done me well. It was probably the best birthday present I ever received and has earned G. many brownie points. She still works just fine  – although temporarily I am using pliers to change the stitching while I wait for a new stitch dial to be posted to me. But I long out grew her – we’re at a point in our relationship were she holds me back. But I’m sentimental cause she’s been such a good one so I’m not sure what I’ll do with her now.

My new machine (which the manual disconcertingly refers to as a sewing computer) is … I don’t even know where to start. I feel like a child that its so excited she’s unable to finish a single sentence, and trips over each thought in a rush of exuberance. Oh the plethora of stitches. The memory function. The auotomatic buttonholes. The speed control. And AUTOMATIC THREADING? I am in pure wonder at this machine’s (I refuse to refer to it as a computer) capability. And quite a bit daunted.

IMG_2998

Bernie came with all sorts of gadgetry including seven presser feet (and I got three more free in the sales that apparently Bernina will now post to me!) plus a walking foot which looks like a very disturbing instrument of torture. Dare I confess that I’m not even sure which is the ‘normal’ one? I mean they all got fancy pants names but none of them say ‘ normal’ do they? I’m just going to have to slowly explore, wish me luck….

 

8 Responses to “New sewing machine!”

  1. navybluethreads January 2, 2016 at 12:33 pm #

    She’s a beauty! I have a similar array of options and feet all woefully neglected, one day… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jendavismiller January 2, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

    Oh you will love Bernie! Mine is named Stella and she is light years ahead of me. You have amassed an amazing number of feet already. Enjoy!

    Like

    • rosemary January 2, 2016 at 8:58 pm #

      Ohh Stella’s a great name. You have a 380? How long have you had her? I feel its like buying high heels in the charity shop when you’re a kid – not only do you have a lot of growing to do to fit them, you also have to learn to walk in them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jendavismiller January 2, 2016 at 9:52 pm #

        My husband was kind enough to surprise me with a 560 for our anniversary last May. (He knew exactly which shop to go to, and what machine to look for, how do you suppose that happened? haha)
        Great charity shop analogy, it’s quite perfect. I sewed on my mom’s Bernina (don’t remember the model #) all through high school and college, but wow, this is a whole new game with their electronic super machines. We will be learning together! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • rosemary January 3, 2016 at 10:16 am #

        Hahaha brilliant. I sewed on a Singer as a kid and then nothing till my husband got me the Toyota. I swore for years I’d never get an electronic one but oh my they are lovely! Yea for learning!

        Like

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 6, 2016 at 6:10 am #

    It’s a beauty! I can’t believe the number of stitches you have! and the presser feet! Lucky you!

    Like

    • rosemary January 6, 2016 at 7:55 am #

      I know – I think there is 115 stitches? Most are decorative and I admit I’ve never felt a need for decorative stitches – but I’m thinking elaborate pockets is the way to go to utilize them all!

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Copycat | Thimble & Threads - January 3, 2016

    […] decided the first project for Bernie, my new sewing machine would be Butterick B5354. I’ve made this top countless times for myself and friends. Most […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

