Copycat

3 Jan

I decided the first project for Bernie, my new sewing machine would be Butterick B5354. I’ve made this top countless times for myself and friends. Most recently I made it for  my BFF using some gorgeous Birch fabric from Bizzy and Boo on etsy. I  loved it so much, and thought the fabric went with the design so well, that I’m gonna be a copycat and make myself an identical one. I’ve made mine a size 8 (even though my measurements indicates size 12) because the pattern is quite large I find.

I figured it was a good top to use while cutting my teeth on my new machine – as I could spend all my time figuring out the sewing machine directions, not the pattern directions.

To start of with I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to figure out how the needle threader worked. I was determined to figure out this first step and not resort to eye squinting and manually threading the needle. In the end I had to google it and watch a youtube video about five times before I was successful. I won’t bore you with what I’m sure is a riveting tale of getting to know my new machine. Essentially Bernie is a beaut to sew with and I have a lot to learn. But my top turned out marvelous!

 

7 Responses to “Copycat”

  1. navybluethreads January 3, 2016 at 6:05 pm #

    Lovely material!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary January 4, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

      The fabric is wonderful to sew with too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lovelucie1 January 4, 2016 at 3:28 pm #

    I agree, marvelous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary January 4, 2016 at 5:58 pm #

      Thanks you!

      Like

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 7, 2016 at 3:15 am #

    Very nice! I love my needle threader. I was at my sister’s talking about it and she asked if her machine had one. It did. Apparently she has had her machine for years and never knew! (Guess I shouldn’t talk about her behind her back 😄)

    Like

    • rosemary January 7, 2016 at 7:41 am #

      Hahah that’s hilarious but I don’t think very surprising! Mine was tucks up nicely out of the way so if the man in the shop hadn’t demonstrated how it was used I wouldn’t have noticed!

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 4 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - June 4, 2016

    […] Kimono Tee; Anna Tunic (mini dress version), Puffins Linden Sweatshirt and Ginger Jeans; and Butterick 5354 (version B) among […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

