A new pencil skirt

17 Jan

Butterick B5466As I wanted a little more practice with my machine on an easy pattern before delving into some of my daunting New Year’s Resolutions, I decided to return to anther old favorite: Butterick B5466.

I’ve made a few variations of it now, including a great denim version of D which I wore just the other day (hence the inspiration). IMG_3086Plus I happened to have a lovely dark green fabric in my stash. The fabric is a medium weight cotton (drill?) which I picked up in Japan last year. I’m trying to get better at identifying my fabric – what would you say this is? I decided to stick with version D as I love princess seams.

To start with I jumped straight in at the deep end: trying my new #35 invisible zipper presser foot. In the past I always put invisible zippers in with my normal zipper foot, which probably accounts for why they were never entirely invisible. I decided I’d better do my research first and found this tutorial absolutely brilliant. Invisible zipper foots, I quickly discovered, are AMAZING. I’ve never had such an invisible zipper and there’s only a hint of a bump at the bottom. HURRAH.

The last time I made this skirt I used a fabric with about 5% stretch and had down-sized to make a 10 or 12 (I cant remember!). But according to the measurements I’m a 14.  So I’m going with that this time as there is a bit of give along the bias but that wont help me much. To be extra cautious I decided to baste all my seams first to reduce potential unpicking! A handy trick I’ve started using is to baste in a contrasting color which makes it much easier to see and later remove!

The fit was pretty good though a touch big on the hips. But I figured that as I was going to use the overlock stitch which takes in an extra 1/4″ to the seams, I’d be ok. This made it fit perfectly. I went back and trimmed the excess fabric with my pinking shears. Having finished the seams so nicely, I decided a little extra touch on the facing would be nice. So I encased the bottom raw edge with bias binding I made from some scrap William Morris print. My ‘insides’ are looking pretty spiffy now!

IMG_3124

The final touch was the hem. And once again I turned to my little stash of new gadgets for the #5 invisible stitch presser foot. I’ve done invisible hems before but never had the speacial food, so like my zips, its always been a bit hit and miss.  I find this tutorial quite a good reminder. This time though it came out brilliant! Can you see any stitches?

 

 

7 Responses to “A new pencil skirt”

  1. navybluethreads January 18, 2016 at 8:38 pm #

    Great job and I love that flash of print on the inside, very neat 🙂

    Like

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 21, 2016 at 3:55 am #

    Nicely done! I think my life changed for the better too when I got my invisible zipper foot. I used a regular Singer zipper foot before. The new one is much better!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 1 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - May 8, 2016

    […] with a simple/plain skirt. I tried making this pattern again in January – making it out of a lovely green fabric (which wasn’t stretch) but the effect really wasn’t the same and I don’t wear it […]

    Like

  2. #Top5Misses | Thimble & Threads - December 13, 2016

    […] Butterick B5466 – While I love the pattern, the fabric I chose was simply too heavy for it I think, as a result it always felt stiff and awkward. The skirt didn’t get worn very often and eventually found it’s way to the charity shop. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

