McCall’s 6044

14 Feb

Back when I first met G. he had this simple black shirt, with a Japanese collar, that he looked quite dashing in. In it, he quite swooped me off my feet. But that was almost 8 years ago and the shirt has long been assigned to the rag drawer. Err well it should be assigned to the rag drawer. So to celebrate our anniversary at the beginning of February  I decided I’d make him a new one. I sewed this up in mid January but didn’t have a chance to photograph him in it until to day.

36_m6044_zb01

McCall’s M6044

I picked up some lovely crisp black Japanese poplin from the Cloth House in Soho along with some great little buttons. I used McCall’s M6044 which I love. I’ve made G. numerous shirts from this pattern such as this short sleeve version in a liberty print. This time I made  Version B but obviously not adding the full collar. Its a great pattern to use while I get more comfortable with my new machine. And has given me ample opportunity to try out new presser feet and try to features.

I got to break in my new edge stitch presser foot – it’s the first time I’ve ever used one. I used it on the pocket, cuffs, neckband, and front facing, and the results were amazing! It almost feels like cheating being able to now do such even stitching no wobbling away from the edge now.

Because I wanted the shirt be be extra sturdy, I  used flat felled seams on the shoulders, on the sleeve seam above the sleeve opening and on the armholes. Because the main arm seam and side seams are stitched in one go, I used a french seam but then top top stitched over this on the main body.

IMG_3188Then I got to try the BEST feature on my sewing machine: automatic button holes. What a dream. I’ve always been disappointed in my button holes, wanted to hide them as they were never perfect. No more shall I fear. The memory feature means that once I’ve done one the correct size, my new machine remembers and does it automatically. Hallelujah!

Anyway, it came together beautifully, fits him wonderfully and he looks as dashing as he did all those years ago.

 

 

5 Responses to “McCall’s 6044”

  1. felicia February 14, 2016 at 7:04 pm #

    Looks good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary February 14, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

      Thanks!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Any excuse for a new dress | Thimble & Threads - February 23, 2016

    […] my contrasting turquoise blue brogues .  And as I was getting all gussied up, I had to made sure G was suitably attired too. We managed not to take any pictures at all on our night out so I only have these few I took of […]

    Like

  2. Week 1 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - May 8, 2016

    […] Saturday: Maritime Shorts from Grainline Studio and Kirsten Kimono Top from Maria Denmark plus bonus evening out in another Kirsten Kimono Top and G. in McCalls 6044 […]

    Like

  3. Hack It! Datura blouse and Laurel dress | Thimble & Threads - June 18, 2016

    […] used the same crisp, black Japanese poplin that I used to make G.’s shirt back in February. It was wonderful to sew with and washed really well, so I was very pleased to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

