Pajamas for G.

16 Mar

After Christmas G had some major pajamas envy when he saw how wonderfully cozy my BFF’s and my Carolyn pajamas were. So he requested I make him a pair.  Initially he was adamant that he wanted the same fabric as my pajamas but that was more couple cutsie-ness than I could handle. In the end he decided he liked  this gorgeous brushed cotton from Truro fabrics.

However it took me a while to find a pattern I liked. In the end I settled for Simplicity 3971 – version B. He is a robust, manly sized man, so I’m making size L (chest 48-50 and waist 44-46) which requires alot of fabric: 5 1/4 meters! As I don’t actually have enough floor space to cut that all out in one go I did the top first, then the bottoms.

After the rigor and detail of my Carolyn pajamas I found the Simplicity 3971 very basic. I added certain details like piping, using the  same contrast fabric as I did mine, as well as top stitching around the collar and down the front. My sewing on the collar however is wanting. The angles made inserting the piping a challenge and if you look closely there’s stitching visible where there shouldn’t be.

I decided to use flat felled seams  which adds considerable more time to sewing but makes them soo much stronger.  I personally am a bit of a sprawler and I flail and roll about a lot in my sleep which puts extra strain on my seams (especially the bottoms). Plus I wear my pajamas around the house most of the time time – doing chores, lounging, dishes, cleaning, and sometimes even gardening. So all the more reasons to make them durable. Where it wasn’t possible to use flat felled seams, I used my snazzy double overlock stitch to finish them (like on the arms and side seams, which are sewn in a continuous go) and on the outside leg seams. The bottoms were ridiculously easy – no pockets, fly or waist band.

While my pattern matching is quite good on the top, it’s really quite atrocious on the bottoms. Looking at them, you wouldn’t know that I spent ages when cutting them out to ensure that the plaid would match. I obviously was trying to match the wrong bits! But in reality G. will never notice and I’m not going to loose sleep over it.

So just in time for the weather to warm up, G. at long last has his own pair of cozy flannel pajamas. They’re ridiculously unfitted but I guess they’ll be extra comfortable.

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Pajamas for G.”

  1. cinnaspice March 16, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

    You did a great job! I am in love with your piping.He looks like he is quite pleased with his pajamas. You now give me some incentive to make some for my husband. Last time I made a pair of pajamas for him was about 30 years ago.. I guess its about time for me to make something for him. (*smiles)

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary March 17, 2016 at 7:59 am #

      Thanks so much! He’s very pleased with them though did inquire (tentatively) if they were mean to be sooo big. Good luck with a pair for your husband! Probably after 30 yrs he deserves some new ones 😉

      Although I’m happy with how they turned out, I wouldn’t recommend this pattern – I can’t help but feels its a waste of fabric.

      Like

  2. lovelucie1 March 16, 2016 at 10:25 pm #

    Fabulous post! Wish my man was so enthusiastic about featuring in my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary March 17, 2016 at 8:01 am #

      Thanks! He’s a little too eager! He wants to strike all these poses and I have to repeatedly tell him that no, they do not show off the garment and please just stand still. (I suspect he secretly reads the fashion mags at the news agents before our ‘photo shoots’)

      But it does make a nice change to have someone else feature on my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pajamas are trending in my sewing room | The Monthly Stitch - March 25, 2016

    […] least. First I made myself some, then I made a pair for my BFF at Christmas, then last week I made some for G (Simplicity 3971 not Carolyn), and finally this week a pair for my BFF’s sister. While I […]

    Like

  2. My ma’s birthday nightgown | Thimble & Threads - May 25, 2016

    […] So I got the brilliant idea of making her a nightgown for her birthday. I was very sneaking in getting her to choose her favourite fabric – I got my sister show my mom the website where I got the fabric for my pajamas and say that she wanted help choosing something I was making for her. Turns out my mom and G. have the same taste in fabric (for nightwear at least) as she chose the same green and purple plaid that I used to make his pajamas. […]

    Like

  3. Quilting a hug | Thimble & Threads - August 25, 2016

    […] I’ve made in the last year: her Christmas pajamas, her sister’s  pajamas, mine and G.’s pajamas (and my ma’s too) plus the scraps from the matching piping. That way when she’s all […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

