My first Linden Sweatshirt

26 Mar

11005illustrationSpring is a funny time. I feel all whimsical and drawn to weather inappropriate fabrics and designs, while bored of the more sedate colors of my wardrobe. But I think I’ve found the solution: Linden Sweatshirt in a springy, slightly flecked, green. I got this fabric at the Knitting and Stitching show and it’s gorgeous.

I’d initially planned to use a very different crazy printed fabric I already had on hand. But as this is my first go around I thought the green would be more forgiving if I needed to make radical alterations.

I set out to make view A(long sleeves) with self ribbing. Looking at the measurements I opted for size 4 which  is accurate for bust measurement but slightly smaller than my waist measurement. Reading through people’s blogs, it seemed that the sweatshirt can be a bit boxy, so to avoid that I went for one size smaller on the waist than the measurements indicated.

I used a jersey needle (80/120) and used the stretch stitch on my machine – its a new one for me, but I’m quite pleased with how it turned out (it looks like a drunk zig-zag). And I used a twin needle to top stitching around the neck, wristbands and waist.

It came together really quickly, I’ve made no alterations and I’m in love! I love the fit, the long sleeves, the waistband, the shape and this fabric is a dream. Bring on a blustery spring, I’m ready.

In fact this was so quick, I think I’ll get started on the next one straight away!

 

 

 

7 Responses to “My first Linden Sweatshirt”

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! March 28, 2016 at 7:14 am #

    Looks good! I like the double row of stitching around the hems.

    Like

    • rosemary March 28, 2016 at 10:59 am #

      Yes the double row of stitching around the hem worked really well. I love how using a twin needle can change the final appearance.

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On trend with the Linden Sweatshirt | The Monthly Stitch - March 27, 2016

    […] made my first Linden yesterday, (thank God for long weekends – no pun intended). I wanted to be sure of the fit […]

    Like

  2. My BFF’s birthday Linden Sweatshirt | Thimble & Threads - April 25, 2016

    […] the repeat, the fabric is sold in .6m increments. After making my two Linden Sweatshirt last month (here and here), I knew it was the pattern for this print and I could just about squeeze out a size 6 […]

    Like

  3. Me Made May 2016 | Thimble & Threads - May 1, 2016

    […] May. So as the first Sunday of the month, while I write this, I’m lounging about in  my new Linden Sweatshirt which I love! It gets a lot of wear as its terribly comfortable and I love the bright green. I […]

    Like

  4. Week 4 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - June 4, 2016

    […] the begining of June). But they were all things I’ve worn at least once in the last month:the Linden Sweatshirt and Kirsten Kimono Tee; Anna Tunic (mini dress version), Puffins Linden Sweatshirt and Ginger […]

    Like

  5. #Top5Hits | Thimble & Threads - December 6, 2016

    […] ceases to make me smile or to elicit exclamations from people about puffins! I’ve made myself two and my BFF […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

