Sew Over It – Silk Cami

2 Apr

silk_cami_for_shopifyWhen I was at the Knitting and Stitching show back in March, I came across Sew Over It’s stall. I wasn’t familiar with them but I immediately fell in love with their Silk Cami pattern.  While last week I was all about sweatshits what with this being dreary cold England and all, this week I’m all about summer clothes as I’m sunshine, holiday bound next weekend.

I decided I needed this top in my suitcase, so I finally got round to buying the PDF pattern and whipped up my first. I used this lovely Lawn cotton I got that the Knitting and Stitching show.

While the PDF pattern was a very easy to put together, I still would prefer to have the real deal. I’m always nervous the the tiniest inaccuracy in my taping of pieces will result in a catastrophic failure when transferred onto my fabric. Size wise I faced a bit of a dilemma as my measurements fall between the 10 & 12 for the bust, and exactly fit the 10 for the waist. So I decided to make the bust size 11 (essentially draw in the lines) for around the bust area but grading to a size 10 for the waist, neck and shoulders.

Alas this didn’t work out too well. Something is just a bit off: a touch tight across the apex; a wee gaping along the front of the armhole; an awkward sitting on the upper bust. I think ultimately its too small and I should have gone for the size 12 all over. But I’m of two minds as to whether this one should be donated to someone smaller or if i’ll actually wear it.

 

I’m a bit disappointed as I love the fabric and the cami (when its not on me) – I’m drawn to its simplicity and the curved hem. I think I’ll have to have another go, trying size 12.

 

16 Responses to “Sew Over It – Silk Cami”

  1. navybluethreads April 2, 2016 at 6:41 pm #

    Seems like a shame, sometimes different underwear can make a difference in the bust department for me. Might be worth a try?

    Like

    • rosemary April 2, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      Thanks – your definitely right about the difference undergarments make. I tried about 5 different bras before settling on the one I’m wearing for these pictures. It definitely is the best ‘fit’ for this top.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Naomi April 2, 2016 at 8:25 pm #

    I second! It’s so cute, and remember that very few other people will notice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary April 2, 2016 at 9:44 pm #

      I know you’re so right. But it’s still so hard when you see the imperfections. It was definitely better when I tried it on after sleeping on it (well not actually on it) – and then trying a different bra. I’ll take it on holiday and see if it grows on me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi April 3, 2016 at 8:24 am #

        I feel ya, I find that when I’ve just finished something is when I am most critical of it… Sometimes some time away is the best cure.

        Liked by 1 person

      • rosemary April 3, 2016 at 12:17 pm #

        You’re totally right!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Summer Sun Bear April 2, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

    Have you tried a full bust adjustment before? I think that might be what you need.
    However, the fabric is lovely and I really don’t think anyone will notice the minor fitting issues! Have you tried wearing it tucked in?

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary April 2, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      I’ve never done a full bust adjustment! Normally my bust is on the small size compared to waist. I am hoping perhaps the size 12 works better – if not I may have to investigate full bust adjustments!

      Like

  4. sewinsteady April 2, 2016 at 11:45 pm #

    Great fabric! What if you let out the seams a bit?

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary April 3, 2016 at 12:14 pm #

      I know the fabric is fantastic isnt it? I’m afraid I was very diligent about clipping round the armholes so I cant take it out any more.

      Like

  5. jay April 3, 2016 at 4:55 am #

    It’s such pretty fabric, I don’t think attention will fall on the fit anomolies, but if you do another, I second the suggestion for an FBA. I can’t see from the photos if there is a bust dart in the pattern, but it needs one. If there is, it needs to be bigger.

    Like

    • rosemary April 3, 2016 at 12:15 pm #

      There isn’t a dart on the pattern, but you’re the 2nd person to suggest a FBA so I may need to investigate how to do these! Am in the midst of trying this pattern in a size 12 so it that doesnt work then FBA it shall be.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Still not right -Silk Cami | Thimble & Threads - April 3, 2016

    […] my disappointment with my last Silk Cami wore off, I puzzled over what to do next. I think that it was just a touch too small, so the […]

    Like

  2. Week 2 – Me Made May | Thimble & Threads - May 15, 2016

    […] Silk Cami from Sew Over […]

    Like

  3. #Top5Misses | Thimble & Threads - December 13, 2016

    […] Cami from Sew Over It – I tried twice (version 1 & 2), but the simplicity of this top, belied the fact that I just couldn’t get the fit […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

