My BFF’s birthday Linden Sweatshirt

25 Apr

It’s my BFF’s birthday and because I love her so much I’ve made her a Linden Sweatshirt (which is my new favorite pattern). Back in January I saw this amazing fabric on Bizzy and Boo’s etsy shop (‘Rain Drops’ from Lillestoff Organic Sweatshirting). I mean how cute is this? You’d be forgiven for thinking it’s two different fabrics – the raindrops run up the right hand side of the fabric and the hippo repeats up the left side.  Anyway she loved the fabric and really wanted something out of it.

IMG_3804-001

Initially I wasn’t sure which pattern would best utilize it. Because of the repeat, the fabric is sold in .6m increments. After making my two Linden Sweatshirt last month (here and here), I knew it was the pattern for this print and I could just about squeeze out a size 6 with this amount of fabric provided I used something else on the sleeves.

I figured the hippopotamus would go on the centre front, with the raindrops on the back and on the waistband and cuffs. After a little mix up with an order, Natasha from Bizzy and Boo gave me 1/2 meter of this plain grey marble organic sweatshirt for free (yahooo) which is an almost perfect match so I used it for the arms (cutting against the grain). Now because I cut the arms against the grain I took the drastic decision to stay stitch along the neckline of the sleeves as I was worried it would stretch out of shape awfully quick.It still has a little bit of give.

I made a tiny OOPS when I managed to accidentally attach the waistband so that the raindrops are upside down. But as it took me a day to notice, I doubt many others will. Also because i used the ‘stretch stitch’ on my machine, its horrible to unpick and I figured I might damage the fabric. I hummed and hawed for ages about whether to use the plain grey, or the raindrops for the neckline. In the end because the raindrops are so large, I decided they wouldn’t quite fit, so went with the plain grey.

It came out fantastically – I am so pleased with how it turned out and she loves it!

She sent me these two pictures – yea happy birthday girl:

7 Responses to “My BFF’s birthday Linden Sweatshirt”

  1. navybluethreads April 25, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

    Full of character, fun fabric!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary April 25, 2016 at 8:26 pm #

      Its very fun fabric, was great to sew with!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Draped in Cloudlets April 26, 2016 at 4:43 pm #

    That’s such a cute fabric! Love how you placed the rain drops 🙂

    Like

    • rosemary April 26, 2016 at 4:49 pm #

      Thanks!

      Like

  3. Back to Blighty April 26, 2016 at 10:43 pm #

    Your friend is so lucky! Such a cute fabric – the perfect gift!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary April 27, 2016 at 6:53 am #

      She loves it – which I’m quite pleased about. Its such a fun top.

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #Top5Hits | Thimble & Threads - December 6, 2016

    […] Linden Sweater – This sweater never ceases to make me smile or to elicit exclamations from people about puffins! I’ve made myself two and my BFF one. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

