Week 1 – Me Made May

8 May

Week 1 of Me-Made-May 2016 is complete! Its been a lovely week, especially as it started with a bank holiday Monday. For this year’s MMM I thought I’d write a bit more about each piece I wear – what I like about it, why it gets worn a lot or not as the case may be. My hope is that like last year, I’m able to identify further gaps, better fine tune my sewing habits and also weed out a few items that really just don’t get loved the way they should. There may be a few bonus entries – where I manage to catch my friends and G. in MMM items!

Monday: Linden Sweatshirt by Grainline Studios plus bonus BFF in Butterick B5354

I’m quite taken with yellow at the moment. Its not normally a color I gravitate towards, but I’m loving the bright sunny feeling I get wearing it. Having a tan from my recent holiday also helps! I wore my new Linden sweatshirt with puffins to Kew on Monday with my BFF. She was wearing Butterick B5354. We had so much and were pretty much jumping for joy as you can see.

Tuesday: Butterick B5466 (version D)

I really love this skirt – its made out of stretch denim which allowed my to make it slightly more fitted than normal.  I’ve been wearing it a lot  as this winter I fell in love with screen printed tights which I like to match with a simple/plain skirt. I tried making this pattern again in January – making it out of a lovely green fabric (which wasn’t stretch) but the effect really wasn’t the same and I don’t wear it as often – though maybe it will get a little love this month.

Wednesday: Simplicity 2451 (version A)

I was rooting round in my closet trying to decide what to wear on Wednesday when I pulled out this little skirt. It comes from my very early sewing days (long before I even knew what a blog was) but I still love the color! As I pulled it off the hanger, I couldn’t for the life of me remember when I last wore it, and why it hadn’t seen the light of day in probably years. Perhaps it didn’t fit any more? Or I wasn’t keen on the shape? As I put it on both worries were dispelled, it fit fine and I love the shape. The only downside is it tends to ride up as the day progresses, so I’m constantly tugging it down. So even if the rest of MMM is a flop, I will have rescued one item from obscurity.

Thursday: Simplicity 2363 (version B cropped)

I love this pattern and especially that slight adaptation of cropping it and making it into a top . I think both the design and fit look really nice  plus its super comfortable, which means it’s one of my go to tops in spring and summer. I think I need more tops like it – something that is easy to wear yet looks great.

Friday: Clover by Colette (version 2) paired with McCalls M6078 (version B)

These cropped clover trousers don’t get much wear, cause I’m not actually a fan of cropped trousers. This pair is made out of the same stretchy denim as my Butterwick skirt from earlier this week and are really comfortable. But alas they rarely make it out of the drawer. I’m thinking of cutting them off at the knee and making them into a pair of long shorts. I’ve paired them today with a very old McCalls M6078 top. I really love this pattern – its super comfortable yet looks really nice. It’s a regular in my summer wardrobe, so its great the British weather has decided to bless us with some sunshine so it might get worn a few times!

Saturday: Maritime Shorts from Grainline Studio and Kirsten Kimono Top from Maria Denmark plus bonus evening out in another Kirsten Kimono Top and G. in McCalls 6044

I love these shorts sooo much. I spent the day playing in my garden wearing these and my Kirsten Kimono top, though at what pont I got so hot I had to change into a tank top (not me-made) – alas I dont have any me-made tank tops. Later we went out for pizza and I changed into a different Kirsten Kimono top and G. wore is lovely black shirt I made earlier this year.

Sunday: Rosy Ladyshorts from Cloth Habit

I was just about to lament about how I’m not wearing any me-made items today when I realised that I am: my pants are me-made! I love this pattern and have been meaning for ages to make myself a ton more. They’re very comfortable and look quite cute too.

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

