New To Me: SBCC

6 Jun

It is Indie Pattern Month 2016 (IPM2016)! Hurrah! I have spent the last month collecting the various patterns, fabrics, notions and potions necessary. And I am soo excited.

The first challenge of the month  is ‘New to Me’ – sewing an item from an Indie pattern brand that you have never sewn from before. I’ve been eyeing up the Cabernet Cardigan from Skinny Bitch* Curvy Chick (SBCC) for almost a year now and as I’ve never made anything from SBCC I decided it would be perfect for my first entry for the IPM2016 contests. Plus making a cardigan waws #4 on my New Years Resolutions – so it’s practically a nececity.

Now I shalln’t write a whole heap about this garment here but should you be interested you can head over to my post on the Monthly Stitch.

The various bits and bobs I used to make my cardigan include:

  • Fabric: Ponte something or other, which I bought from the Sew Over It stall at the Knitting and Stiching show in March
  • Buttons: Crendon Imitation Leather Buttons 19mm Black, from Minivera Craft
  • Thread: 100% Polyester Guttermann thread Col 141, from MacCulloch & Wallis
  • Prym 10mm transparent elastic, from Ray Stitc

 

6 Responses to “New To Me: SBCC”

  1. Thimberlina June 6, 2016 at 6:27 am #

    Cool! Love the zig zaggy ponte fabric, I bet you get loads of wear out if this 😀

    Like

    • rosemary June 6, 2016 at 12:13 pm #

      The fabric perfect eh? I lovei.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! June 10, 2016 at 2:43 am #

    I’ve had my eye on that pattern for a while now. Your’s looks great!

    Like

    • rosemary June 10, 2016 at 5:22 am #

      Its a really wonderful pattern. I’d also had it on my wish list for a while and it is well worth it! Easy to follow instructions (not overly detailed but you’d have no problem) and its quick!

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not an old man’s cardigan | The Monthly Stitch - June 6, 2016

    […] I had initally planned to put blue star shaped elbow patches on, and had sewn the on before doing the sleeve and side seams. But once these were done I realised the patches were in the wrong place and after taking them off, wasn’t able to satisfactorly reapply them.  But while the cardigan lacks my originally inteded embelishments, I’m actually really pleased with its simplicity and love the fit. If you’re interested theres a ton more photos and a bit more chat on my blog. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

