Datura (again)

19 Aug

This is the second of my three summer tops to celebrate the Monthly Stitch’s 3rd birthday. Seeing as I had the Datura blouse pattern out recently for Ms M’s belated birthday present, I thought I’d whip one up for myself.

While in New York last month, I managed to make a quick trip to Mood and OH MY GOD. It was one of the most overwhelming experiences of my life. I nearly left without anything because I was so overwhelmed. But I got over it. And bought this beautiful shirting fabric.

I’d initially planned to make a Sorbetto top out of it, but having Datura  there on the table, I couldn’t resist. I made the simple version – plain yoke with no Peter pan collar. But I think it works really well with the print. I spent ages cutting out so that I could pattern match and I’m really pleased with the results! The pattern matching where the yoke joins the body on both front and back is spot on, as is across the center back where the buttons go. I was a little less successful at the side seams, but who looks there anyway. I used a sateen bias binding for the hem and found some perfectly matching buttons (which are just sewn on – why sew button holes if you dont need them?).

3 Responses to “Datura (again)”

  1. Lynsey August 20, 2016 at 9:42 am #

    Your top is so lovely, that fabric looks gorgeous.

    Like

    • rosemary August 20, 2016 at 9:44 am #

      Thank you – the fabric is really lovely and feels soo nice. There is definitely something to be said for buying better quality fabric!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three summer work tops | The Monthly Stitch - August 20, 2016

    […] ready should summer decide to revisit us here in  London. I’ve written more about Sorbetto, Datura and Airelle over on my blog – with plenty of photos and a bit of random commentary on fit and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

